My little friends

I spent Monday morning plotting, mostly working on the areas where I  grow flowers. It wasn’t too long before I was joined by my little friend.

In a few weeks time I shall be hopefully emptying the compost heap and look forward to the company of a robin, or maybe two.

The RSPB’s Big Garden Birdwatch is this weekend, which I shall enjoy doing. I will be looking out of the front window at the area where I scatter bird food and no doubt that one of the birds I’ll see will be a robin.

On arriving at the trading shed on Sunday mornings I put the kettle on then refill the bird feeder. The robins there even come into the shed occasionally!

Seeing, and hearing, one of my little friends always brightens up the day.

Have a good weekend!

Author: Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flying book buff.

22 thoughts on “My little friends”

  1. This morning when I got up it was still dark – I opened the window and the first bird song I heard was the robin – trilling away – they are still there even if you can’t see them. It’s nice to have them around to keep us company on these dark winter days.

    Like

  2. Robins truly are a Gardeners friend 🙂 The Bird Watch has crept up on me this year!
    Seems to have come around very quickly – is that a sign of old age? 😉

    Like

  3. I took Archie on one of our regular walks this morning and there was no one around but us, the birds and a squirrel. I noticed two male blackbirds having a disagreement but didn’t see the lady blackbird who the quarrel was most likely about, and I saw a little robin. He wasn’t timid at all, just sat on a branch nearby while I stopped to talk to him. They really are friendly little birds.

    Like

    1. Jo I see a female blackbird but have only seen a male a few times. Wherever I am if I see a robin like that I stop to chat with it! It makes them so endearing! xx

      Like

  4. Thanks for the reminder Flighty. We’ll be doing the bird count too. Although the birds do seem to get wind of it and disappear. One year the garden was teeming with birds but we were busy with other things. Then when we settled down to do the survey not a sausage. In the end we recorded a couple of sparrows and starlings. We need to try to outwit them this year.

    Like

  5. Good luck with the birdwatch! I was very lucky this past weekend to see a pair of Pileated Woodpeckers. I don’t know if you have them in your area. They are so impressive!

    Like

    1. Doris thanks! Lucky you, especially as it was a pair. We have woodpeckers – green, great spotted and lesser spotted – but I rarely see any although I do hear them quite often. As you say they’re impressive birds. xx

      Like

  6. I love robins, they are such curious little birds, and can get almost underfoot in their desire to grab food you unearth as you work. Guaranteed to bring a smile to anybody’s face! Hope you have a good Bird Watch session.

    Like

  7. I have a local robin that sits in the tree just outside my house and sends me off on my commute each morning with a lovely little song. Makes me feel better about getting up and going out on these dark mornings.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.