Growing for one

I’ve been reading the excellent book Our Plot by Cleve West over the past few weeks and in the chapter on vegetables he says…I’ve tried to give an idea of the quantities by noting the number of plants we grow and whether we have succeeded in growing just enough (for two people), too much or found ourselves left wanting.

During last week I tentatively planned what I’m growing this year, where on the plot and approximate quantities.

I’m only growing for one so for most things I only require a small number of seeds which is why I get them from MoreVeg. I’ve bought from there for the past few years and can highly recommend them.

This year I’m also going to try and do more succession planting and sowing to hopefully give me smaller quantities over a longer period.  I shall also try to be a bit more attentive when it comes to preparation, watering and weeding.

As usual I’ll be doing posts throughout the year on my progress and success, or lack of it!

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Growing for one

  1. I had ‘Our Plot’ as a Christmas gift and really enjoyed reading it – but I think I need to re-read it as don’t think you take everything in the first time. I have just been over to look at the More Veg site and found some varieties that I have been looking for elsewhere – so thank you for mentioning them – I had never heard of them before, and have obviously been missing out. Succession sowing has been invaluable to me this winter, and like you, will attempt to remember to do it more often. Have a good week!

    • Flighty says:

      Elaine I’ve been browsing mine and will read it properly later on. MoreVeg really are an excellent company for smaller quantities of seeds.
      I’ll be mentioning it again when I start sowing seeds which will help to remind you!
      Thanks, and to you too! xx

  2. Good idea to do succession planting. I must do that too,instead of having a glut of everything at once. I am going to try to sow just 6 to 8 seeds in a row every few weeks this time!

  3. Alison says:

    Succession planting is something I will have to do, I don’t want to freeze too much of the veg we don’t manage to eat, we don’t have a huge freezer and it is so much nicer fresh! Look forward to seeing your results Flighty.

  4. Annie_H says:

    I also want to try and master the succession sowing this season. I didn’t get the balance right last year with too much of some things and not enough of others. I’ll be interested to see how you get on over the season.

  5. I’m pants at successive sowing! My successive batches never do as well as the first. Will keep trying. Thank you for Moreveg tip, as even growing for more, there’s always too much seed. And I don’t have the heart to throw away seedlings, so end up with FAR too many plants. Agree with you on ‘Our Plot’, what a great read.

  6. Jo says:

    I’ve just done my post about More Veg then find that it’s the subject of your post today too, still, it just reinforces how good we find them. I managed much better at successive sowing last year than I usually do. I’m hoping to get it right again this year.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I’ve just read and commented on your excellent post about MoreVeg. It’s obviously not as easy as looks from what you and others have said. I’m sure that we all are! xx

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Makes lots of sense, Flighty, when you’re trying not to grow more than can be eaten or shared! Hope you’ll be able to gather some good information on what methods work for you.

  8. Mo says:

    I’m pants like Petra 🙂 I start off succession sowing pretty well but it always seems to go downhill “must do better” 🙂

  9. Ah yes, succession planting. In my head I do this really well. In reality, not so much! And when it does it happen it is usually by accident… Good luck with your plot this year Flighty, will look forward to reading about it all.

  10. wellywoman says:

    I’ve never had much success with successional sowing. I think it is very difficult to achieve. Seeds germinate depending on the weather conditions and if you have a dry spell or a cold spell this can put everything back. I still give it a try but I never manage that perfect supply of continuous food. I find lettuce particularly difficult, ending up with too much and then none at all.

    • Flighty says:

      Welly’ it’s looking more difficult to do by the comment!
      If I don’t succeed, which seems ever more likely, hopefully I can blame the weather. xx

  11. bearsfootprints says:

    hi thought i would pop by, i thought i recognise the name Flighty, is it uk gardeners where i have seen it?

  12. Glo says:

    Sounds like a great book to peruse in preparation for spring planting. One just never knows what the weather will bring which makes it a large part of the challenge of gardening…good luck with your succession gardening. It will be an interesting experiment to see how it all plays out. Home grown veggies are such a treat and I know you’ll share via your blog all of your many successes. I have great faith Robin will be there watching over you!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo it’s a most enjoyable, and informative, book. With our somewhat changeable weather gardening is always a challenge. Thanks! They sure are, and |I certainly will. I do hope so! xx

  13. Happy plotting, I’m sure the harvest is only part of the pleasure

Leave a Reply

