Today is…

National Poetry Day with the theme Work, which is something that we all do one way or another just about every day.

I think that this delightful poem is rather appropriate for here.

My Little Friend by Brian H. Gent

When I take out my rake and hoe,

My little friend just seems to know,

Some tasty morsels I’ll provide

As soon as I start work outside.

He watches me without a sound,

Perched on my spade stuck in the ground,

Small wonder that our spirits soar,

Such is our simple sweet rapport.

With red bib shining in the sun,

A special magic spell is spun,

We work together side by side,

From morning till the eventide.

No truer friendship could be stirred,

Than this between a man and bird.

Over on Sofa flying there’s my favourite poem A Dance Through the Sky, and on MrFlighty there’s Today is… with an Old Thanksgiving Rhyme.

I’m sure emotions were working overtime for Daffy‘sΒ  Remembering you… in memory of her mum and Diva‘s An Angel Called Marie written for her granny, both lovely poignant poems.

La Spice, on her poetry blog,Β  has done National Poetry Day with a wonderful poem titled Work.

Veg Plotting has responded absolutely magnificently with the terrific post Magnetic Poetry – October.

Glo‘s work poem On Task made me smile, you’ll see why when you read it!

Lois, on her Devon Life blog, has done National Poetry Day: Work with the doggerel All work and no play… along with a superb photo.

Daffy gets another mention with National Poetry Day and her poem Making it work. It’s thanks to her that I’m doing this entry as I was undecided about it until she gave me a proverbial kick up the backside!

Jenray‘s not sure about her Poem on Work for La_Spice but I think that it’s rather good!

Laura b joins us with Poetry in the United Kingdom Floats and her poem The Conference Room, which many of us will surely relate to!

I wake up strange did this superb poem (Still) Working, which is another one many will relate to!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Today is…

  1. VP says:

    Hi Flighty – What a great poem you’ve found. Work in the garden or allotment is a much more pleasant activity!

    I’ve updated my piece to link to you and here. I’ve also added details of a fun poetry event on Saturday that you and your readers might be interested in. Yolanda in particular will be joining in. πŸ˜€

  2. Glo says:

    Hi Flighty!Thanks for your poem and the links. I’ve just posted one I’ve written with this “work” theme in mind.

    http://porcelainrose-glo.blogspot.com/2008/10/on-task.html

  3. Flighty says:

    VP it seems so appropriate for here. It is indeed!
    Thanks for that. I’ll certainly mention your fun poetry event, which needless to say has my wholehearted support. That comes as no surprise! xx

  4. Flighty says:

    Glo thanks for your poem which is now mentioned and linked above. xx

  5. Lois Wakeman says:

    Thanks for the mention, Flighty. Hope you enjoyed the sun as much as I did.

  6. Flighty says:

    Lois you’re welcome! I did indeed, it was very pleasant and surprisingly warm. xx

  7. gemmak says:

    Nice :o)

    I can’t do poems so I’m not gonna even attempt it!

  8. Flighty says:

    Gemmak hello and thanks!
    It doesn’t have to be your own thankfully as I can’t either! xx

  9. laura b. says:

    Hi Flighty. I’m dropping over from Daffy’s blog. I love poetry, so I had to check it out πŸ™‚

  10. Flighty says:

    Laura b. hello and welcome! Me too so I do the occasional poem post.
    Sadly I don’t write poetry, unlike Daffy!
    Take care xx

  11. Tracie says:

    I thought it was going to be a lizard, not a bird, perched on the spade – they often keep me company while I’m gardening, and ride along on anything they can hitch a ride on – and they have red “bibs” also, sort of.

    Hello, I am popping in from Daffy’s blog, enjoying all the poetry.

  12. daffy says:

    We’ve got them Flighty! Poetry is a winner!
    Your poem here is very thoughtfully chosen and ‘fits’ you perfectly! I love it. Well done on turning an uninspiring theme into a wonderful work of art! Yes art! :o)
    You have some fabulous links and you have some gorgeous commentors…. *waves at Laura and Tracie*
    Fabulous Flighty,
    Poetically mighty,
    Gardeners delight,
    Blogging Knight.
    Fantastic Friend,
    Absolute Godsend!
    xx

  13. Flighty says:

    Tracie hello and welcome! I’m glad you’re enjoying the poems.
    I’m not keen on lizards, and thankfully we don’t have them here!
    Take care. xx

  14. Flighty says:

    Daffy thanks mostly to you! Indeed it is!
    I nearly did something else as I had trouble finding this one.
    They’re all terrific poems and lovely people.
    What a wonderful ditty…said blushing! xx

  15. daffy says:

    Hi Flighty,
    Can lovely Laura have a link?
    Her poem is fab too!
    http://onlyoneihave.blogspot.com/

  16. Flighty says:

    Daffy sorry your comments got treated as spam!
    Of course lovely Laura can have a link, I’ll do it right away! xx

  17. VP says:

    Hi Flighty – I’ve really enjoyed NPD and everyone’s responses. I’ve just contacted the NPD organisers via their website to tell them I think they’re missing a trick by not doing something siimilar to you on there!

    Naturally I’ve given them a link to your entry here πŸ™‚

  18. What a great peom you’ve found Flighty. I had not come across this one before and enjoyed it very much. Thanks!

    Have a lovely weekend! xx

  19. Flighty says:

    VP so have I, it’s been great fun!
    What a good idea, it’ll be interesting to see what their response is! Thanks. xx

  20. Flighty says:

    Yolanda it seems so appropriate!
    Thanks, you too! xx

  21. Maureen says:

    That’s a lovely poem – “My Little Friend” and definitely appropriate regarding you and your allotment. Thanks for sharing it.

  22. Flighty says:

    Maureen it’s one of my favourites! You’re welcome! xx

  23. goldenferi says:

    Oh I missed this day. This is your brain when you move. I have been busy posting everyone elses poetry and haven’t been doing too much writing. I am hoping to change this soon. I will check out the poems you have mentioned.

  24. Flighty says:

    Goldenferi hello! I know that you’ve been rather preoccupied recently home moving so don’t feel too bad about it.
    Enjoy the poems! xx

  25. Loved the My Little Friend poem! Didn’t get to read all the links, Flighty. Not having much time at all these days but wanted to stay in touch with you and say hello πŸ™‚

  26. Flighty says:

    Beginninghere that’s nice to know! That’s okay, save them for a rainy day.
    Good of you to stop by when I know that you’re so busy. I’m sure that it’ll settle down soon, until then take care! xx

  27. Liv says:

    Tis true, I have never met a robin who did not sit on whichever garden implement I was using at the time. I love how bold they are, but why them of all the birds? xx

  28. Flighty says:

    Liv it’s made them our favourite garden bird not surprisingly! xx

Leave a Reply

