It’s been too hot…

to do any plotting this week, so all I’ve done is to take make a brief visit each morning after breakfast to water where and when needed.

The onions Sturon are doing well and it won’t be long before the leaves start to yellow then topple.  When that happens I’ll start lifting them to sort, store and use.

 

The sweet corn Incredible is also doing well,  and with over twenty plants it may well be one of my best years yet.  If so it’ll be particularly pleasing as I sowed these direct rather than plant out seedlings as I usually do.

 

 

Among the various flowers around the plot these two pinky ones are of note.  The pink-edged white cosmos is one that’s self-seeded from last year and the salmon-pink nasturtium  from seed I collected and sowed.  I’m not sure of the variety of either of them.

Thankfully it looks like being cooler from tomorrow onwards, around the low 20’s C/ 75 F, but a showery weekend is forecast.

Take care, and have a good weekend!

Author: Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flying book buff.

16 thoughts on “It’s been too hot…”

  1. That nasturtium is such a pretty colour. Oooh yummy, sweetcorn, another veg where you can really taste the difference in homegrown. I do love summer but I’ve had enough of this hot weather now, I’ll be relieved when it cools down.

    Like

  2. Love the pale pink nasturtiums, very unusual. And your onions and corn are looking amazing. As you say, the corn is particularly good for being direct sown. I am waiting for my elephant garlic to die back as well, then it can be pulled and dried. It takes much longer than proper garlic though. Hope you have a good weekend. CJ xx

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.