Pleasant surprises

I got home from the plot one morning during the week to find an official looking envelope on the doormat. On opening it I was pleasantly surprised to find that I’d won £25 on the Premium Bonds.  I’ve had them for years and it’s only the second win I’ve had,  the other one also being £25.

Yesterday morning there was another envelope which was hand written and posted from Cornwall.  I opened it to find this lovely card along with a nice message and some seeds from Debbie, who lives in Plymouth.

She’d sent me some blue flowering Aquilegia and dwarf Sweet William, which has white flowers with a red centre, she’d recently collected in her garden.

 

With the temperature in the high 20’s C/ over 80F it’s been too hot to plot and my visits have been just  to water where needed, lift some more potatoes and have a look round before heading for home.  One morning I was pleased to see and photograph this Painted Lady butterfly on the self-seeded sunflower Ring of Fire.

Take care, and have a good week!

Author: Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flying book buff.

26 thoughts on “Pleasant surprises”

  1. Brilliant news! Love the sunflower, very aptly named. I haven’t done much gardening here either. The snails have had most of the French beans, so after losing all of the runners I am resigning myself to empty beansticks this year. Looks like it will be a hot week as well. Out with the watering can! CJ xx

    Like

  2. Congrats on your win. My very elderly premium bonds have never come anywhere near the winning post. Super pictures of your card and the butterfly.

    We had unexpected, un-forecast fine rain all day yesterday. Today is overcast but mild. It certainly saved a plant watering session. xxx

    Like

  3. Congratulations on the win, they are rather exciting envelopes when they arrive! That’s a lovely card from your friend and a beautiful photo of the butterfly. Agree on just visiting to water, too hot to plot for me too! Take care, Karen xx

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.