The two asters,…

or Michaelmas daisies if you prefer, I have are the last plants to flower at this time of year.

I’ve had the blue ones for almost as long as I’ve had the plot, and were given to me in a large pot.  They’ve certainly spread since I planted them out and now form a large clump between the dogwood and the roadway where they always do well.

I was given these white ones some years ago by George, a one-time plot neighbour who much preferred growing flowers.  This smaller clump has masses of tiny white flowers which I call Twinkling Stars.

These have done well since I moved them from the middle of the plot, where it’s prone to water-logging in wet winters, to the top edge next to the roadway.

Please note that I’m not doing a Tree following post this month as both Liz’s white oak over in Lexington, Kentucky and the plum tree have shown no discernible changes since last month’s post.

Take care, and have a good week!

Author: Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flying book buff.

18 thoughts on “The two asters,…”

  1. Your michaelmas daisies look lovely. I have a “ clump” my front garden which are just about to come into flower. Didn’t know they are also called asters, l thought that was a completely different flower! You live and learn, thank you. Have a restful Sunday x

    Like

    1. Andy thanks. Enjoy them when they do. Asters are a large family of flowers, with some looking rather different to others. We do indeed, you’re welcome.
      I did, and hope likewise. xx

      Like

  2. So glad to hear someone else calling them Michaelmas Daisies Flighty … we have always known them by that name. It divides them, in my mind, from the larger single blooms obtained from the Asters that Dad grew as well.

    Like

  3. Lovely asters. I saw the ones at the wetlands place yesterday and they were looking good too, the bees love them. Hope you have a good week. CJ xx

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.