What a difference…

with last week’s frosty nights making way for this week’s warm sunshine!

The beetroot, carrots, mixed leaf salad, radish and spring onions have all started growing.  I’ve sown all the borlotti, French and runner beans as well as  more flowers including four varieties of nasturtiums!

Only about a dozen broad beans have germinated so I think that I’ll give up on these, dig them up and sow a couple of courgette Black Beauty and pumpkin Hooligan F1 Hybrid !

The potatoes have spouted new foliage, and I accidently dug this one up which I put back to hopefully grow somewhat bigger !

The teasels have self seeded, a couple of which I’ll let grow full size, and  several  gladioli have appeared  above ground during the week.

The aquilegias have all flowered, and I remembered to stake and tie the stems  to prevent them being toppled by the wind, which happened last year. This white one is new

Plot plant of the week, and which perfectly matches this glorious weather, is the poached egg plantI recently moved some that had self-seeded last year and this week they’ve been flowering profusely.  I’ve also got them as my new header picture.

I caught a glimpse of a fox nearby during the week, and Joe told me that he’d disturbed one resting on the old carpet which covers George’s compost heap which is adjacent to the plot just across the grass path.  A few small holes have been dug on plot as well so perhaps it’s Fox Digger! I’ll be a bit more forgiving if I get to see and photograph him.

Happy gardening!

Author: Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flying book buff.

14 thoughts on “What a difference…”

  1. Hi Flighty, now that the weather has finally turned nice and warm things are almost jumping out of the ground. Sun makes such a difference to our gardens. Was in your country earlier this month and it was bitterly cold but that did not detract from the fun I had as I met so many British garden bloggers.

    Enjoy your allotment!

    xx

    Like

    1. Yolanda hello, I’m noticing how much some plants are growing daily in this weather! It does indeed.
      I read your Malvern visit post and it was good to see how well you all got on. It was a shame that it was so cold but it seems that didn’t stop you enjoying yourself.
      Happy gardening! xx

      Like

  2. I can’t believe how the weather can change so quickly. I just hope that this isn’t all our summer is going to be, and that we get some more decent weather later in the year too. The sunshine is making everything grow well, but I’m having to water regularly as everything is drying out so quickly. Your new header is lovely and cheery.

    Like

    1. Jo I think that it’s the extent of the change that has really surprised us! I’m not that keen on summer but would like a long, mellow autumn with an Indian summer!
      There’s certainly been a lack of rainfall, which most of us gardeners now want. xx

      Like

  3. It was hot indeed tending the barbie this afternoon, the chilled cider just about kept me sane! I’ve got a couple of Black Beauty planted out, fingers crossed no more frosts!

    Like

    1. Damo I don’t like it as hot as this, and especially if it’s humid as well. When it is I tend to stay in and do some sofa flying!
      I’ll be planting and sowing a few of that variety and it’ll be be interesting to see how we get on and what we think of it.

      Like

  4. What is pleasant is that I have bluebells, wisteria, montana (apple blossom) crab apple and apple tree blossom (think Spartan and crab apple jelly), primroses, peony (both tree and ordinary) pansies, granny’ s bonnets clematis (summer not spring) and they are all out together.

    Spring and Summer all in one.

    Unbelievable.

    Like

  5. what another lovely post – the nice weather has made everyone so much happier I love it. Adore the new header, have to get some poached eggs 😉 hugs all round xx

    Like

    1. Carrie thanks, me too and it’s making everything grow which we all like.
      Taking a good header picture is not easy so I’m pleased when I do get one like this!
      Take care and hugs! xx

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.