The unknown plants…

that I included in the Shades and shapes post slideshow at the beginning of the month have now all been identified.

Unknown ~ 1 is an oriental poppy (papaver orientale) which I don’t recollect flowering before but has several buds on it, one of which you can see here

Unknown ~ 2 is a lemon balm (melissa officinalis) plant which seems to have self seeded as I’ve still got a packet unopened!

Unknown ~ 3 is almost certainly a polemonium, or Jacob’s Ladder, which I shall keep an eye on to see if it grows and flowers.

Unknown ~ 4 is Rosebay willow herb which is often considered to be a weed but I let it grow  around the log pile, and  elephant hawk moth larvae feed on it.

Unknown ~ 5 is a plum tree according to Joe and Trevor, which is good news!As you can see it’s grown up through the patio pallet , so I’ve put a length of old broom handle in the ground close by to hopefully deter me from stepping on it!

The elder tree which I’ve mentioned recently is actually a  common ash!  I dug it up yesterday morning as I’m told that nothing will grow in the adjacent ground.  It was just a few feet from the above plum tree which I think is  much better to have on the plot.

My thanks to everyone who helped identify these,  all your suggestions were much appreciated.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The unknown plants…

  1. Jo says:

    It’s easier to identify plants once they’ve grown a little. It just goes to prove that you shouldn’t dig up anything you’re not sure about as you could be digging up a gem.

  2. daffy says:

    Glad to see you managed without my technical help. (Usually offered would have been a colour and the word “thingy” would follow.) 😮
    Oh and I think I want a patio pallet! 😮
    Hope you are well and making the most of the plotting weather! xx

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy I really don’t know how I managed without your unique expertise! I think that you’ll love the poppy when it flowers.
      And what would you do with it if you did?
      I am thanks, I was on the plot this morning sowing flower seeds. xx

  3. Liz says:

    The oriental poppy looks like some alien creature! I must sow some poppy seeds this spring; another favorite!

Leave a Reply

