Plot plants ~ Poached-egg flower

The  Poached-egg flower (Limnanthes dougasii) is a quick-growing annual, and one of the most free-flowering,  from California which I think is a delightful little plant.DSCN1190

The flowers are apparently delicately scented and certainly beloved by bees.DSCN1187

These photos were taken on a dull day last week,  and as you can see I’ve used  another one for my new header picture.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Plot plants ~ Poached-egg flower

  1. Olivia says:

    Hahaha!
    This is a throws head back, clapping hands with delight kind of laugh, that’s how funny those poached egg flowers are! xx

  2. re says:

    They are such pretty little flowers, the header looks great.

  3. Glo says:

    Very pretty indeed ~ your title did get my mouth watering for poached eggs on toast!

    A lovely flower which I’m not familiar with here. We do grow California poppies, so I’ll have to see if they are in any of the nurseries.

    LOL at Liv’s comment ~ she’s in such a lovely space 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Glo thanks, I prefer scrambled eggs on toast.
      Let me know if you don’t find any and I’ll send you a packet. It’s all you’ll need as they self-seed and come up every year.
      It’s nice to see that my post has that effect! xx

  4. fraggle says:

    Those are really pretty I’ve never seen them before. X

    • Flighty says:

      Fraggle I’m not surprised that you’ve never seen them! Chiltern Seeds says…Although offered in many seed catalogues, one rarely actually sees it growing in a garden… ! xx

  5. nikkipolani says:

    They are just darling, Flighty! And so sunshiny bright. They remind me of ‘tidy tips’ that we saw out in Carrizo Plains — sort of that same yellow and white, though not as large.

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Yes, that’s them — here’s a photo I took at Carrizo Plains. How nice that they are quick growing and free-flowering — perhaps freely reseeding as well?

  7. Ellie says:

    Oh, they take me back. I think they were the first seeds I bought when I had my first garden of my own – those and cornflowers.

    I haven’t seen them for ages – I must grow some next year. Lovely photos – I like the bee gorging himself!

  8. Couldn’t agree more with the other comments. Those are really lovely flowers and so striking. Nice pictures as well.

  9. Louise says:

    Lovely bee shot Flighty. x

  10. These self seed every year in our veg plot, I leave as many as I can because they are supposed to attract beneficial insects (and they look so pretty of course).

    • Flighty says:

      Helen hello. They are prolific self-seeders, and I leave them as you do. They certainly do attract beneficial insects, and I agree that they’re pretty. xx

Leave a Reply

