Springwatch

Starting next week on BBC2 is Springwatch, which is on at 8.00pm Monday to Thursday, and the following two weeks.

Once again it’s coming from Pensthorpe, and presenting from there will be Kate Humble and Chris Packham. Among the birds they’ll be following are familiar blackbirds and exotic kingfishers.

Simon King will be in Wales where he’s hoping to see a highly elusive polecat, and Gordon Buchanan will be in Essex filming a family of  badgers.

As well as watching  it on TV, or if you can’t do that,  visit the Springwatch website where you’ll be able to follow everything that’s happening.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Springwatch

  1. Glo says:

    I guess as you are getting up, I’m heading off to noddy land 😉 I’ve been baking ~ each week a group of seniors from the community come in and read with the children. Tomorrow is there last day of this school term, so we are thanking them with tea and goodies. I picked up some squares at the bakery as requested, but then thought I’d better bake something else in case there’s not enough ~the staff will be joining them…4 hours later, 4 dozen ginger cookies with lemon icing, shortbread tarts with lemon cream filing, and a bowl full of orange and chocolate mini-muffins ~ plus whatever is in the bakery box. Now I just have to pack my car in the morning…

    Thanks for the link to Springwatch which I’ll enjoy following. I notice there is a little nuthatch just like the ones that live here on the bottom right of their website. They make the silliest noise…neep, neep, neep ~ at least that’s what it sounds like to me. They’re cute though! Searching for polecats and badgers sounds like an unusual pastime! Some people have very interesting jobs!

    • Flighty says:

      Glo I hope that you had a good night’s sleep after such a busy evening! All those cakes sound rather delicious, and I’m sure will be scoffed down in no time.
      If you get to look at the Springwatch messageboards and see Sofaflyer commenting that’ll be me!
      I don’t think that I’ve ever seen a nuthatch. According to my book it has a ringing pee-pee-pee-pee song, as well as a number of high-pitched seeps and kiks!
      Polecats are very rare here unlike badgers. They do indeed! xx

  2. Glo says:

    Whoops, I said ‘there’ last day, instead of their last day…can’t have that, working in a school and all!

  3. fraggle says:

    I must admit I do love watching spring watch,I especially like the badgers, and will watching it with interest. Have a great weekend x x

  4. NiC says:

    Excellent…about time too! Thanks for the advance warning. 🙂

  5. Ellie says:

    Already! I can’t believe it has been a year since the last one. I’ll look forward to seeing the kingfishers – I don’t think I’ve seen one since I was a child. x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie I know, but I also find it seems a long time as well! I’ve only ever seen two quick glimpses of colour flying past and would love to see one perched on a branch. xx

  6. daffy says:

    Chris Packham! Now he is a bit easier on the ladies eyes than Bill Oddie! hehe
    Can’t wait to follow the Springwatch soap opera!
    Saw another siskin this morning, only my second ever and my woodpecker has been back every day this week! I think the birds are hungrier than ever at the moment. I fill my tree with fatty balls and half coconuts as well as fat/seed covered pine cones. Along with the four feeders on the station filled up. By Monday, Tueday latest, it’s all gone!
    They are costing me a fortune!

    • Flighty says:

      Daffy I prefer Kate myself! hoho
      Nor can I, and I’ve already been watching the webcams!
      Lucky you, I don’t think that I’ve ever seen a siskin! My bird feeders have been virtually untouched for weeks now, which is saving me money! xx

  7. Louise says:

    I am looking forward to Springwatch starting tonight. I like Chris Packham, but I shall miss Bill Oddie. I always enjoyed the voiceovers he did with the nature stories. x

Leave a Reply

