Just six!

Six plants  I can’t live without is, as I  mentioned last week,  a meme that I read on Maureen’s A View from England blog that I’ve obviously got to do!

I’ve actually chosen six that I like to grow, and indeed do with one exception.

Daffodils, or narcissus if you prefer, are the flowers that I think really do herald the arrival of spring. Much as I like the traditional yellow ones I also like the all-white ones and the various mini varities.

I grew up with roses as my mother had lots of them in her garden, mostly red ones and my own favourite Icebergs, and always had some in vases. Although I only have three roses on the plot I’m also lucky enough to be able to look at Nikki’s wonderful collection whenever I like!

I like poppies be they the familiar red ones or the small Californian ones. I had lots on the plot last year which hopefully self-seeded to do so again this year. Just in case I’m also sowing more including  Iceland mixed colours.

Sunflowers are such a wonderful smiley flowers, especially the tall singles with their big sunny faces peering down!  I wrote this post yesterday morning, which was dull and wet, when the post arrived which included a lovely card from Beginninghere. She also sent me a packet of  Vanilla Ice seeds which look to be a wonderful variety to grow.

Blue is my favourite colour but I often feel that blue flowers don’t always have the impact that they should, perhaps because of the lack of contrast with green foliage.  However last year I grew cornflowers which I loved for their intense colour, long flowering season and the contrast against the biscuit-coloured grasses among which they grew.

The one plant that I would like to have is a hydrangea. For me there is nothing that matches its sheer, but not too showy, presence. It is a wonderful plant that provides all year round interest. What more could you ask for!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot, Lawn lounging. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Just six!

  1. Maureen says:

    Those are all excellent choices. I love them all, Flighty! Thanks for taking part in the meme.

  2. re says:

    What a lovely selection, mine would all be linked to the nostagia of plants that I knew as a child.

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Fabulous list of six, Flighty! I hope your Icebergs finally bloom for you this year. If they don’t, you may need to replace it for a better specimen. There are some quite good white hydrangea varieties and I hope you find one to your liking. And the sunflowers ought to invite more feathered friends to gather on your plot 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki thanks I’m glad that you like it! So do I, and will be most unhappy if I do have to replace it.
      I keep looking at hydrangeas and one day…
      I’m really looking forward to the sunflowers growing and flowering! xx

  4. What a great list! I too love blue flowers but you are right. They seem to recede and lose their impact —but those cornflowers are striking. Last year we found a deep blue agapanthus and we have tried deep blue irises but the blues only show up if other lighter colors are behind them. Looking forward to seeing pics of your favs in bloom. The hydrangea is a fine idea. The leaves are large and such a fresh green and the flower caps are beautiful. And tell those Icebergs to cheer up or be dug up 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Beginninghere many thanks! I often find that they look nice in pictures then don’t look so good in situ.
      I’ll have to do an entry ‘Just Six in bloom’!
      I stop and talk nicely to the Iceberg every time I’m there! xx

  5. Glo says:

    I think I could have guessed most of your choices from what you’ve said, but it was fun to read what your actual choices were. It’s interesting how flowers from our childhood seem to stay with us ~ daffodils or narcissus for me too ~ I also love all sorts of blossom, wallflowers, sweet peas, roses and my favorite blue flower ~ heliotrope. (See I squeezed in my favorite six 😉 ~ all fragrant ones)

  6. Flighty says:

    Glo yes I’m not surprised, and thanks!
    I really wanted to include lavender and sweet peas but if I did then which two would I then leave out!
    I’m sure that our childhood, and fragrances, influence our choices in many ways. xx

Leave a Reply

