A carpet of colour

Cosmos corner is this area from the stone feature to the dogwood rose which I hoped would be a carpet of colour this summer, however as you can see it’s ended up looking decidedly patchy.

It’s my fault as I didn’t sow anywhere near the number of seeds that I meant to back in the spring. Never mind there some pink, red and white flowers to enjoy. They’re the shorter, around 18″/45 cm, Sonata series which should fare better than the taller varieties on my exposed plot.

 

I’ve already started collecting seeds to sort and save for next year when I’m hoping for a much better display.

Take care, and have a good week!

Author: Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flying book buff.

20 thoughts on “A carpet of colour”

  1. I imagine they’ve still got quite a lot of growing to do, so by September and October it might be covered in flowers. I’ve had cosmos flowering on until November, so it’s early days yet. I’ve just got a couple of self-seeded ones this year, but they’re always good to have for the bees. CJ xx

    Like

  2. I must remember “Sonata series” cosmos for compact size. I sowed some orange cosmos seeds in a box in front of a window and they see really tall and gangly. Cheerful, though!

    Like

  3. They are lovely blooms and I’m sure they will grow and fill the space.
    I had to chuckle at menhir1’s social distancing comment 🙂

    Enjoy these last few July days.

    All the best Jan

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.