It’s not surprising…

that the plot looked like this on Thursday morning following heavy rain overnight on top of last weekend’s very wet weather.

I’ve never seen it as bad as this before, and with more rain this weekend there’s little prospect of it drying out unless it stays dry for a couple of weeks.  Needless to say that I couldn’t do any plotting last week and it looks like I won’t be doing any next week either.

Looking round it’s good to see the rhubarb starting to show, and there are more daffodils Tete-a-tete appearing.

One of the annual flowers I’m growing this year is nasturtium  Princess of India, a dwarf form of the popular Empress of India.  The flowers are deep red and foliage blueish-green.

Have a good week!

Author: Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flying book buff.

22 thoughts on “It’s not surprising…”

  1. Oh dear — look at that standing water. It’s like that here in Kentucky too. We’ve had flood watches. Come September, there will be a drought!

    Like

  2. There’s so much water around after the storms. As you say, it’ll take some time for everywhere to dry out, and that’s if there’s no more rain, no guarantee of that.

    Like

  3. It’s absolutely saturated out there at the moment isn’t it. The stream is as high as I’ve ever seen it and the pond is topped right up. Let’s hope things don’t start rotting. CJ xx

    Like

  4. My garden is waterlogged too. I’m also shocked to see all sort of plants and bulbs growing all at once. I have fuchsia and geraniums that didn’t even bother to die back over the winter months.

    Like

    1. Gertie hello and welcome. Good for you, I hope you enjoy it. There’s no standing water now but the plot is still very soggy. Sadly no, I really don’t have the space for them. Take care. xx

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.