Some indoor gardening

This morning started off dull and wet but it’s now dry and sunny which must be a relief to all those running the London Marathon.  I will probably take a far more leisurely look round the plot then after lunch do some indoor gardening checking and watering the seeds I’ve got growing on the windowsill.

Cosmos & sunflower seedlingsI’ve had rather mixed success so far with the best of the flower seeds being the cosmos   and sunflowers.   Here are two of each, the sunflowers (bottom two plants) being the dwarf variety Musicbox which I’ve not grown before.

One of the sunflowers Mongolian Giant is now over a foot tall but I can’t plant it out until night-time temperatures warm up considerably.

 

Tomato seedlingsThe first lot of tomatoes Golden Sunrise and Outdoor Girl are doing okay.  It’s noticeable how different the latter’s leaves (top two plants) are to most varieties.  I’ve sown a few more which have just started to appear.

The first Tiny Tim seed didn’t germinate but I sowed a couple more during the week and one has just appeared.

 

Growing Space by Lesley Acton

 

When I settle down afterwards to sofa fly with a cup of tea and a couple of biscuits I will continue to enjoy reading Growing Space – a history of the allotment movement by Lesley Acton which I’m finding interesting and informative.

 

Have a good week!

Author: Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flying book buff.

19 thoughts on “Some indoor gardening”

  1. Those tomatoes must be a potato leaf variety, they’re so different to the normal tomato leaves we’re used to, aren’t they? I’ve only just sown my tomato seeds, I’m late this year, I’m sure they’ll catch up. The book sounds interesting. Enjoy your visit to the plot.

    Like

    1. Jo I’m sure you’re right. Well done, and no doubt they will. It’s been an interesting read. Thanks, it was a quick visit as it was rather chilly. xx

      Like

  2. Your seedlings are looking good. Which direction does your window face for your seed starters? You mentioned the allotment history book a week or so ago. It does sound interesting and a good Sunday afternoon read with tea and biscuits!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m waiting for a warmer spell to put things outside as well. In the meantime the windowsills are crowded. Sofa flying with biscuits and a good book sounds absolutely blissful. I hope you have a good week Flighty. CJ xx

    Like

  4. Amazing the difference between the genus. Interesting sproutings you have. It must be a bit concerning that you cannot put out a ‘teenage’ seedling. Would a cold frame be a possibility?

    In Edinburgh today, the expected high of 9 deg C. was 13.5 deg C at 17.45hrs. I had a bowl of soup sitting outside at The Terrace Café , and otherwise, I was meandering through the Botanical Gardens carrying my jacket! xxx

    Like

    1. Menhir I agree, on both counts. It certainly would but for the moment I take them to the plot, and put them in a plot neighbour’s overnight, for a few days before planting out.
      Lucky you, it’s been really chilly here the past few days, with cold nights. xx

      Like

  5. Your book sounds interesting. I need to sow a few more seeds & will be glad when it’s warm enough to plant things. A few weeks off though here xx

    Like

  6. I really enjoy indoor gardening, so I’m glad someone else does! In the lack of a greenhouse, being able to pop in and tend to some seedlings on the windowsill gives me something to do throughout winter and cold wet days like you say 🙂

    Like

  7. Gosh, yes! Odd looking tomato seedlings for sure, I’ll be interested to see how they get on. I think Jo is spot on!. Mine are so slow this year, as are many others seedlings, it’s far too cold. Now that does sound like an interesting read!xxx

    Like

    1. Snowbird, they do look very different, and I agree that Jo is right. That’s a shame, a lot of mine are as well. I’ve just finished it and it certainly was. xx

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.