At this time of year…

we’ve all been enjoying daffodils, tulips and blossom but often tend to overlook the fresh green foliage of new growth on other plants.

Looking round the plot there’s nearly always something of note such as the perennial cornflower with flower buds now visible and the oriental poppies which have retained their leaves all through the winter.

Centaurea montana flower buds   Oriental poppy foliage

The Michaelmas daisies will eventually provide a welcome show of autumn colour and I’m pleased with the red valerian that’s in the stone feature.

Michaelmas daisies new growth   Red Valerian

The only plotting that I’ve done so far this week was on Tuesday morning when I did some hoeing and weeding, then added more mulch round the raspberries.

Thankfully it looks like getting warmer by Monday after a week or so of very unseasonal wintry weather.

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to At this time of year…

  1. Looking good thank you for sharing have a blessed day Mike

  2. I have just planted some raspberry bushes (donated from a friend’s plot). Should I be adding something to help them along? What mulch did you use? Thanks 🙂

  3. Alison says:

    I had blue cornflower last spring/summer and I loved them. I tried direct sowing poppie seeds early spring but non germinated. Maybe I’ll try again next year.

    • Flighty says:

      Alison cornflowers, annual and perennial, are lovely flowers. That’s a shame, I don’t have much luck with poppies either. They’re worth trying again. xx

  4. Chilly weather caught us out. Hopefully next week will be better. Enjoy the long weekend.

  5. Jo says:

    I love all the different greens at this time of year, the new growth just zings. On Tuesday we had sunshine, rain, hail and snow, all four seasons in one day.

  6. Liz says:

    The fresh young greens in all their hues are lovely indeed!

  7. menhir1 says:

    Things are sprouting and bushing up very quickly by what I see in your pictures. xx

  8. snowbird says:

    Lovely seeing your greens, I hope they cope with the arctic weather we’ve been having.xxx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    Love love love seeing buds forming up and leaves looking happy!

  10. CJ says:

    It’s the time of year when suddenly everything starts to look really green again isn’t it. I love it. Good to hear that some warmer weather is coming, it’s been bitterly cold here this week with frosts and hail. Thankfully I hadn’t jumped the gun and planted anything out except some sugar snap peas, and they seem impervious to it all. Have a good weekend Flighty. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ yes and it’s little wonder that we like this time of year as we do. Warmer weather is long overdue now. Good for you, nor have I. Thanks, and you too. xx

  11. annie_h says:

    I definitely agree the fresh often bright green foliage looks great against the brightly coloured bulbs at the moment. I do hope you are right about the weather getting warmer, I’m getting fed up of this cold weather now.

  12. Jo says:

    You’re quite right – it’s easy to overlook the beauty of lots of green foliage!

    I’ve been enjoying the rosemary, sage, lavender and gradually re-appearing mace on my old allotment.

  13. Matt @ Garden59 says:

    Good point, Flighty – I do love how things are starting to become lush again. Winter must be nearly over by now, surely!

Leave a Reply

