An August assortment

It was a stop and start plotting week as I was there Monday and Tuesday then the weather changed so I didn’t go again until yesterday.

Looking round it seems that the cooler weather and some rain has been beneficial for various plants.

Red valerian

 

 

The Red Valerian (Centranthus ruber) in the stone feature is flowering again which is good to see. This is a perennial plant which is good for bees and butterflies, and for cutting.  I’m also told that that it does well along a hedge where little else grows.
Crocosmia flowers

 

 

 

The two large clumps of crocosmia are in full flower, and are eye catching with bright green sword-like leaves and masses of orange flowers.

 

 

Growing up through and around the wood-pile is Rosebay willowherb (Chamerion angustifolium) which has lots of small pretty white crossed flowers.  And look who I spotted sitting on one of the logs – it’s the Canuck twins.

Rosebay willowherb   The Canuck twins

Lots of 'Pretty lady roses

 

After it’s initial floriferous flourish back in May the rose Pretty Lady has been flowering non-stop.

 

 

Happy gardening, and have a good week!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

Author: Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flying book buff.

21 thoughts on “An August assortment”

  1. You have a lovely color palette with the red valerian, crocosmia, rosebay willowherb, and the glorious Pretty Lady. The Canuck twins appear to be sitting pretty on the woodpile!

    Like

  2. I saw those two frogs on the cover of a magazine during this past week and had to wonder what they were! So funny that you’ve put them on the logpile! I do like that rosebay willowherb, such a pretty name, so I may try and track it down for a wildflower bed I have planned. Thanks for tip! Caro x

    Like

    1. Caro I do hope that they lookalikes and not these two. Rosebay willowherb is a wildflower and often considered to be a weed, and can be rather invasive. You’re welcome. xx

      Like

      1. I have a pair of those frogs too. I wonder how many there are lurking in gardens and allotments around the country?

        Like

  3. There’s still lots of colour on your plot. Rosebay Willowherb used to grow all over my old allotment but it was easy enough to pull up.

    Like

  4. Wow, that rose is amazing, still flowering prolifically. My Madame Alfred Carriere was a flash in the pan. Lovely, but brief. Nice to see all your flowers, especially the insect friendly ones. Wishing you a good week of plotting next week. CJ xx

    Like

  5. Lovely to see the Canuck twins log-sitting ~ perhaps their form of sofa flying 😉 After I saw them, I strolled down to the rose garden (not very aptly named with this drought)…and there were my two froggies…one hanging onto the top of a rose bush, and one hanging on to a bottom branch. I took photos but haven’t checked them yet. Yours look much more relaxed than mine who are badly needing a drink. Your crocosmia are sprightly – love the way they wave their leaves in a breeze…and the Pretty Lady rose continues to be outstanding.

    Like

    1. Glo I tend to move them around through the summer. I have had them hanging on the runner bean canes but they tend to get hidden there.
      The crocosmia are also in need of thinning out as they are now rather large clumps. The rose never ceases to amaze and delight. xx

      Like

  6. I have a pair of those frogs, yours look great sitting on the log pile. I like your crocosmia, I’d like some in the front but I’d heard it could be invasive, Have a happy gardening week x

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.