Wonderful and wild!

Further to last Sunday’s post the rose Pretty Lady is now covered in blooms

Whilst  watering and weeding yesterday morning one of the robins was my constant companion and at one point it disappeared into the washing up bowl pond for a drink! I’ve not seen any birds do that before so I was well chuffed.  I’m finding that it’s virtually empty every morning now so I guess that the fox is drinking from it during the night.  I just hope that at least one of the handful of tadpoles that are still in it survive to become a resident frog.

At home last Friday afternoon I noticed that there were lots of small birds flitting about in one of the trees out back. Because it’s now in full leaf it was difficult to see what they were until I got a clear view of one which  thanks to it’s small size and long tail was unmistakable. That’s the first time that I’ve seen them here and I hope that they visit again.

It’s the last Springwatch tonight on BBC2 at 8.00pm, and tomorrow there’s Springwatch Unsprung on BBC2 at 8.00pm.

On Sunday at 8.00pm BBC2 is showing Wild Night In which is a two hour extravaganza in aid of the BBC Wildlife Fund live from London Zoo. All the Springwatch presenters will be joined by various celebrity guests including David Attenborough.

Have a good weekend!

Author: Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flying book buff.

35 thoughts on “Wonderful and wild!”

  1. Pretty Lady certainly lives up to her name, I like roses with a delicate colour. It’s good when our efforts to attract wildlife are rewarded. I’m sure there are many creatures that you don’t know about which are very grateful to be able to take a drink from your pond. Wild Night In sounds good, I’ll have to watch out for that.

    Like

    1. Jo she most certainly does, me too! I think that I’ve been very lucky to see the wildlife that I have on the plot. Yes I’m sure you’re right.
      Hopefully it will be a good programme! xx

      Like

  2. aaahh that must be lovely to have a robin as a gardening companion. We have baby blue tits in our garden (blogged some photos on my last post) and a baby blackbird also, not sure what others as like you say they are all well hidden at the moment.

    Like

    1. Scentedsweetpeas hello and thanks for stopping by!
      It certainly is and on the rare occasion when I don’t see them I feel slighty sad.
      Lucky you with the blue tits as it’s a bird that rarely see here. I have a pair of blackbirds resident out back at home but have yet to see any youngsters. xx

      Like

  3. I haven’t spotted any long tail tits around yet, but we do have a couple of coal tits visiting from time to time. I’m not a huge fan of roses but Pretty Lady is very well named 🙂

    Like

  4. What a lovely rose, Flighty. I love the soft blush colours as well as the pretty bloom form. Glad you have at least this rose performing well for you this season. It’ll be interesting to see if your tadpoles survive Mr. Fox’s nightly drinks of water!

    Like

    1. Nikki I could have picked a dozen blooms off it this morning! I’m happy to say that it looks like the ‘Valentine Heart’ will come good as well soon.
      Yes it will, and I’ll keep you all informed! xx

      Like

  5. Very gorgeous rose. Mine are budding but I haven’t been at the lottie since Friday so I have my fingers crossed I’m not missing everything. Blasted hayfever could be the end of me!

    Like

  6. How lovely to see Pretty Lady in bloom. That’s a gorgeous photo! I think your washing up bowl pond is a veritable source for all sorts of activities ~ perhaps a new story begins…Once a pond a time on Plot 124… 😉

    Like

  7. Carrie
    Try honeycomb, not honey from a jar, must be honeycomb and eat the wax as well. I eat a teaspoonful per day and every day till Summer has gone.

    Flighty I love the Pretty Lady, full flower blooming lovely.

    Like

  8. You sound like you are having fun with the wildlife. Foxes being the predators that they are, would, I though, discourage your birds etc. Perhaps with you on site, they are safe to visit. Obviously, Mr F, you cannot tell, unless you set up a webcam, whether there are fewer birds etc in number when you go home.

    Can you see if you have any tadpoles surviving?

    Like

    1. Menhir I’m sorry I read your comment then forgot to reply! You’re right as I have occasionally found the remains of an unlucky wood pigeon that a fox caught.
      I do wonder what wildlife there is there at night!
      I check the tadpoles every day and yesterday saw one which had limbs and was breathing air! xx

      Like

  9. I look forward to the tadpole development tales. Sad about the trails of natures food stores. It is all part of the wildlife food chain and, even that is changing in its nature and style.

    Like

    1. Menhir I’ll take a couple of photos to show the pond and the adjacent ‘wildlife’ area, which includes the logpile, for a forthcoming post (maybe this Sunday). xx

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.