There’s lots more happening…

I’ve removed all the bulbs from both planters, and after checking them I put them in a bucket for the foliage to die back.  Some will go back later in the year whilst others will be planted out on the plot.

In the long planter I sowed a packet of  linaria maroccana, and yesterday I noticed that the seedlings had started to appear.  Four sunflower Pacino seeds were sown the square planter as these only grow a foot and a half tall.

Around the plot various sunflower seedlings have appeared including this giant single. I wonder how tall it will eventually grow?

The aquilegias are now all in flower, including this white one which has a smaller mauve one growing alongside it. I remembered to stake them this year as I’ve lost them before through not doing so.

Around the dustbin lid pond can be seen perennial cornflowers, creeping buttercups and the first iris.

There’s lots more happening including several gladioli leaves showing, some tiny nasturtiums and pot marigolds that self-seeded from last year and there are at least twenty buds on the rose Pretty lady!

Foliage has appeared on all the potatoes with, from left to right, two rows each Vales Emerald, Charlotte, Kestrel and Desiree. Over on the right are the broad beans Witkiem manita.

Happy gardening!

Author: Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flying book buff.

16 thoughts on “There’s lots more happening…”

  1. Holy smokes, Flighty! You have a proper garden growing already! Everything looks healthy and green. Nice to see the pond surrounded by prettiness. You must be feeling pleased as Punch!

    Like

    1. Glo I do indeed, and I’m well pleased as you can imagine! It does but the lack of rain means watering by hand at least once a week. I always overtop the pond so that everything around it grows well. I am that, and more! xx

      Like

  2. Looking good – especially the spuds! But I do like the flowers too. Some little monster has eaten through the stem of one of my sunflowers – grr!

    Like

    1. Mo thanks, I don’t normally water mine but with the lack of rain I have felt they needed some. I’m sorry to hear that, and expect one or two of mine will suffer the same fate! xx

      Like

  3. I keep meaning to create a nice little wildlife pond like yours. Everything on the plot is looking very green, and very productive Flighty. I’m working in the garden today, every so often stopping for another mug of tea, so I can just sit and admire the garden. It really does look at its best at this time of year. x

    Like

    1. Louise it’s well worth doing one! Thanks it sure is, although the lack of rain and strong winds aren’t helping.
      That sounds good to me, and do the same on the plot with a mug of water and an apple! I agree about this time of year. xx

      Like

  4. Everything’s really sprung to life on your plot. It seems really early to have so much interest already but this weather is certainly bringing things on. The potatoes which I planted in containers have put on a lot of growth in a couple of weeks.

    Like

    1. Jo it sure has but the lack of rain has meant watering it all, which I do every four days or so at the moment! Your potatoes are doing well by the sound of it. xx

      Like

  5. Loving that new header photo of your poached egg flowers! Those neat rows of potatoes looks so sweet in the sunshine. And it seems you are getting plenty of sunshine for all the wonderful new growth!

    Like

    1. Nikki I took that photo this morning! I just hope that we get no hard frosts here which will kill all that foliage. If that happens it will regrow and the potatoes themselves won’t suffer.
      There’s been plenty of sunshine but it’s been windy the past few days and we really could do with some rain! xx

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.