Plot plants ~ Poached egg plant

This week the poached egg plant flowers have been providing a wonderful warm looking patch on the plot when the flowers unfurl in the sunshine.

It’s an easy, and quick, growing annual from California which is apparently delicately scented and as you can see here, and on the new header picture, beloved by bees

It freely self-seeds to grow again each year. I also scatter a packet of seed over the area just to make sure.

Another popular name for this plant is meadow foam, and there is a very aptly named egg-white variety called Meringue.

Have a good weekend!

[I shall try and find the previous Plot plants posts to list in the next post I do in this occasional series.]


About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Plot plants ~ Poached egg plant

  1. Harry says:

    We called it the ‘fried-egg’ plant, and it is lovely to see…but as you know it can take over an area!…but, heck, so what?

  2. Mo says:

    That’s lovely! And so nice to see the bees enjoying them too.

  3. Jo says:

    It’s definitely one for the bees, they love it as your photo proves.

  4. Louise says:

    Meringue is certainly a pretty variety – but wonder whether the bees are more attracted to the yellow centres? x

  5. Doris says:

    What a bright, cheery post. Love these flowers (never heard of them before) and to see the hungry bees enjoying them.

  6. alison says:

    i like the name, delicious and they do look like eggs 🙂

  7. These are looking great, but it’s a shame there isn’t a bacon plant to go with them lol

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Whatever they’re called, I love these cheerful sunny flowers. Glad they are reseeding for you, Flighty!

  9. What a lovely, cheerful blog, Flighty 🙂
    I wouldn’t mind growing these Meringue flowers too, that’s if I can find any seeds / small plants.
    Steff
    (logged into my flower beetle site)

    • Flighty says:

      Steff hello, welcome and thanks for your kind words!
      Me too, so we’ll have to keep an eye out for the seeds.
      Your blog is wonderful! I’ve just had a quick look at it and will have a longer look later on. I’ve added it to my lawn loungers favourites list and will give you a mention in a forthcoming post! xx

  10. Karen says:

    Have a great weekend too Flighty! The bees are certainly happy on your plot 😉

  11. Ellie says:

    What a lovely photo – I must try scattering some seeds because I’m looking out for plants that the bees love. I haven’t tried growing it for years – can’t think why not. x

    • Flighty says:

      Ellie thanks, the bees love it as you can see!
      Another good plant for bees, and hoverflies, is phacelia tanacetifolia which is a green manure so it’s doubly useful. xx

  12. I’m kicking myself for missing this off my seed order, such a pretty little plant, and great for attracting insects. Next year! I think that is becoming my motto…

  13. Hope my Poached Egg Plants look as good as yours did last year. Lovely Pics.

Leave a Reply

