The plot ponds

Glo, Porcelain Rose, recently asked how the pond is so I thought that as I’ve just tidied both of them, and their surroundings, I’d do a post on them.

When I took the plot on I wanted a small pond and used an old green washing up bowl which is half filled with stones.It’s situated near the log pile on the wild patch, and I’ve been lucky to see, and photograph, a couple of Frog Newtons* in it.

There was a tiny one about the size of my thumb tip, sitting on the pond edgeand a fully grown one cooling off on a stone in the middle of it

I’ve also seen a fox drinking from it. That’s about it apart from a few snails as it is mostly hidden from view.

The other pond is a large green plastic dustbin lid positioned on the edge of the flower bed.This one is filled with small stones, and all I’ve ever seen in it are bees drinking.  To the left is the foot high oak tree, at the right of centre bottom can be seen a few about to flower primroses and along the top edge are some lilies.

On arriving at the plot I always check both ponds and top up with water if need be.

What I’d really like to see on the dustbin lid one is a colourful damselfly which I have seen flying around on some summer days.

[*The name Newton was decided on as the plot is on the Newton Park East Allotment Site]

Happy ponderings, and have a good weekend!

Author: Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flying book buff.

36 thoughts on “The plot ponds”

  1. What a tiny little frog, you could have easily missed him. The pond I have in my garden is very small, but it’s amazing what wildlife it attracts. I should really get a small pond installed on my allotment, that’s given me something to think about.

    Like

  2. How lovely it is to see the ponds again, and Frogs Newton and Newtonette. Are those frog photos recent or were they the ones from back in Frog Newton days? I bet it will be really pretty around the edges when the flowers come into flower. Now I’m all nostalgic thinking about Frog Newton and his ponderings 🙂

    Like

  3. What great ideas for ponds 🙂
    We used to have one in a Belfast Sink, but that’s a water trough for the pigs now. I miss it. We do, however, frogs and toads around the garden. There are some that appear to live in the Heather.
    You’ve inspired me to get a small pond again, thank you 🙂

    Like

    1. Mo thanks! Yes thanks a popular choice to use. A plot neighbour has a bigger pond where they spawn and live.
      I think that all gardens and plots should have a pond, however small! xx

      Like

  4. I recall you posting about the development of the bowl and dustbin lid ponds. Who would really know from a distance what the linings are for your water features. These are doing ever so well. The frogs obviously enjoy the additional watery home you have given them and other wild life have watering stops provided. Simple ideas are often the best.

    xx

    Like

  5. You’ve inspired me with your ponds! I like to see what’s happening in the wildlife pond at my local City Farm (lots of mating frogs there last week!) but it never occurred to me to put a teeny one in to the Veg Patch for the kids. They’d love it! Is it too late to start one this year, do you think?

    Like

    1. Carolyn hello, welcome and thanks! Start one now as I really don’t think that it matters when you do. You’ll should start to see some wildlife almost immediately, and plants around it will grow now as well. xx

      Like

  6. Oh that’s great! I’ll get on to it straightaway, starting by looking around for a suitable base. Do you think shallow is better for the wildlife? I have a few large round play-tubs, picked up at the recycling centre last winter but they’re about 18 inches deep. Too deep, do you think? I’d bury the container in the ground and plant around it. I also have some cobblestones that could go in it (again, recycled, from a closing down cafe!)

    Like

    1. Carolyn a deeper one is better for frogs, but make sure that they can get out of it so if the sides are steep/vertical then a stone ‘staircase’ is needed. What you have sounds ideal and should give you a terrific small pond! xx

      Like

  7. Thanks so much for all this great advice, Flighty! Hopefully it won’t be raining in North London tomorrow and I can get out there with my spade and get digging; it seems I have all the necessary bits to start off a pond – made possible with the benefit of your experience and recycling! (I love recycling other people’s unwanteds, don’t you?) xx P.S. Have added your blog to my reading list so I can follow your adventures…

    Like

  8. Have a good weekend Flighty, those are great ideas for ponds. When the children are a bit older I’d like to add one to our garden as they attract so much wildlife.

    Like

    1. Karen thanks, it’s surprising just what can be used as a pond! My frogs are just vistors as they live in a plot neighbour’s bigger, deeper pond and wildlife area. xx

      Like

  9. Flighty those pictures are lovely. Since reading your post we have decided to make a smallpond in the back garden i cannot wait i just love frogs. We had a lovely pond before we moved i really do miss it so i am inspired again now thank you .
    Rosebud/Mary

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.