Ever optimistic,

as all gardeners should be, I sowed some broad beans on Monday. I haven’t had much luck with them the past two years so wasn’t going to bother but decided that there was space for some. I bought a packet of Witkiem Manita at the trading shed last Sunday and sowed about forty seeds.

On Friday I sowed a few tomato seeds at home, doing four pots each of the ever popular Gardener’s Delight and the yellow one Golden Queen.  I make no secret of the fact that so far I’ve failed completely to grow my own plants but being ever optimistic I’m hoping for better luck this year.  I will let you know how I get on!

Yesterday I put up two wigwams, each comprising eight six foot canes, for my sweet peas.  I’m growing Spenser Choice mixed colours and Kings High Scent which I’ll be sowing direct, two seeds for each cane.

I’m more than happy to share the log seat but I do think that the robin is being rather cheeky trying to claim exclusive perching rights by pooping on it!

Happy gardening!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Ever optimistic,

  1. Good morning, Flighty! Looks like we’ve got good gardening weather, mild and sunny! Your robin is very cheeky but it’s one way of knowing that he’s keeping watch for you. We have some very bold robins here that I love to slow down and watch. I had broad bean failure last year; I grew the Sutton but didn’t have many pods. Might try again this year with a few plants, depending on space. I absolutely love sweet peas, especially the grandifloras. I hadn’t heard of King’s High Scent before (there are so many to choose from, aren’t there?) but they look lovely in the link. I hope you’ll photograph them in due course! Have a great day! xx

    • Flighty says:

      Carolyn hello, and I hope that you had a good gardening day!
      My robin usually keeps a close watch on me when I’m there, often from no more than arm’s length away.
      I would just like to grow a good crop of broad beans for a change!
      I usually save sweet peas seeds but these were given to me. As you say there’s really too many to chose from. I will photograph them, as I do with everything on the plot!
      Thanks I had a usual quiet routine, non plotting, Sunday. xx

  2. Jo says:

    I’ve never grown broad beans. I hated them as a child and haven’t tried them since. I really should though as I also hated runner beans and French beans yet they’re one of my favourite veg now. Good luck with your tomatoes, they’re one of my favourite things to grow.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo it’s funny how vegetables we didn’t like as children we often do like later in life!
      Thanks, I was offered some tomato plants at the trading shed this morning but really would like to grow my own. xx

  3. Jenny Aspin says:

    Ha! That’s robins for you, Flighty. They don’t like to share. 😉

  4. My broad beans are just pushing through the soil, you already know the trouble I’ve had with them so the green shoots are a delight to see. I’ve been sowing tomatoes since February and I have quite a few nice plants now, some are due to be potted on – must get on with that. I give many of them to family and friends hence why I grow so many! Good luck with your broad beans and toms x

    • Flighty says:

      Karen let hope that we both do well with them!
      Thankfully if I don’t succeed then I have been offered some tomato plants.
      Thanks, you too! xx

  5. Glo says:

    I can already picture the sweet peas climbing up the poles, so I hope I’m right and you have a bumper crop. I must look out some seeds as well. Good luck with your beans! As for the Robin ‘Loo’kout, I think they feel at home on your plot and land there when they are pooped!

  6. Mo says:

    Good luck with the beans and tomatoes – You will probably end up with 40 stonking great Broad Bean plants 😉
    Your log seat is Robin Territory now, he’ll be dive bombing you soon if you sit on it 🙂

  7. alison says:

    good luck with the beans. oops! with the robin pooped. happy gardening flighty!

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Too funny, Flighty. And good luck with your broad beans! What I thought was sweet peas may well be snap peas…. the stems are quite a bit beefier than sweetpeas — the real ones growing a few feet away.

  9. Flighty says:

    Nikki it sure is! Thanks. It’ll be interesting to see if they are! xx

  10. Good luck with the broad beans – always good to stay optimistic. I’m going to use the sweetcorn I haven’t sown yet as bean support, mostly because I am running out of room in the bean bed…

  11. polythenepam says:

    Aint it strange how folks cant grow certain stuff – I cant grow onions. Dont know why, everyone else gets huge bulbs. I can grow broad beans which is rather a shame as I don’t like them much….. such is life.

    • Flighty says:

      Pam it is, but it seems that we all have a problem with one thing or another. Really, I have no problems! That’s all too typical isn’t it. Take care! xx

Leave a Reply

