Cold and hot

I didn’t get to watch Nature’s Great Events last night but I’ll catch up with it when it’s shown again on BBC1 Sunday at 6.00pm.  2/6 The Great Salmon Run is on BBC1 next Wednesday at 9.00pm.

If you like monkeys then Natural World- Snow Monkeys on BBC2 tomorrow at 8.00pm should be of interest. It’s all about Japanese macaques, and the programme is Radio Times’ Pick of the Day.

Earlier this week it was good to see that former blog friend MJ has returned to blogging with a new WordPress blog 2 times 20. She lives in Bueno Aires, Argentina where, as you can see, the weather is somewhat better than here!

As you all liked the little koala that I mentioned, and showed, here last week here’s another one over on Maureen’s excellent A View from England blog.

I’m sure that, just like me, plenty of you also wear socks in bed at this time of year. Being a couple of inches longer than my bed and sleeping straight rather than curled up if I didn’t my feet would be frozen! I mention this as a lead in to this wonderful poem by Wendy Cope.

The Joy of Socks

Nice warm socks,

Nice warm socks –

We should celebrate them

Ask a toe!

Toes all know

It’s hard to over-rate them

Toes say ‘Please

Don’t let us freeze

Till we’re numb and and while

Summers gone –

Put them on!

Wear them day and night.’

Nice warm socks,

Nice warm socks

Who would dare to mock them?

Take good care of every pair

And never, ever knock them!

.

Have a good weekend!

Author: Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flying book buff.

25 thoughts on “Cold and hot”

  1. Where did you discover the poem, it’s great! I do love koalas. When we visited Kangaroo Island in Oz, the guide told us that they lose many of the little fellows through bushfires. Such heartwarming footage to come out of such terrible loss to human life, and a brief moment of relief for the firefighters. x

    Like

  2. *Snigger* Nearly sent some tea through my nose when you said your feet overshoot the end of the bed. 😛
    xx

    P.S. One can never have too many socks, I have learned.

    Like

  3. Glo I’m glad that this made you smile!
    Sniggering, and snorting, seem to be an occupational hazard when reading entertaining posts!
    Your Ode to Bed Socks for Flighty had me laughing out loud this morning. It’s brilliant, thanks! xx

    By the way your first two comments got treated as spam, presumably because of the link! Anyway all sorted now. xx

    Like

  4. I love the sock poem it’s great!! 😀
    Unfortunately I never wear socks in bed, my feet are like little furnaces and I always have to stick them out of the bed covers. I also always have an electric fan on all year round to cool my feet down when they get unbearably hot, as they do every night. My hands are the same, Nags often asks me to stop holding his hand or arm because it burns him! LOL Little Lincs is human hot water bottle like me so Nags is never far from a warming huggle! 🙂 xxx

    Like

  5. Divastar it seems that we all like it!
    Lucky you, rather that than cold feet and hands which many suffer with. Tell Nags that he’s a lucky so and so as well! xx

    Like

  6. Bedsocks rock!!! I can´t do without them (in winter, of course! 🙂 Lovely poem!
    And yes, the weather today is fantastic!!!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.