Plot life

I was recently looking through the photos that I’ve taken during last year and was pleased to see several that I can use as header pictures.

I’m starting with this one of a gardener’s friend on one of this gardener’s favourite flowers!

It’s always good to see  ladybirds* anywhere on the plot such as  the blackberries, runner beans and sweet peas.  * That is except Harlequin ladybirds like this!

dscn0511

Sweet peas were one of my real successes from sowing seeds in pots indoors to cutting a bunch of fragrant flowers to bring home.

dscn0616

I usually start any plot visit by walking round looking at the  plants and any wildlife,  although there’s  not been  much to see during the past few months. Perhaps it was just the brown, ripped topped,  sunflower stems or an elusive dunnock feeding on seed that I’d scattered on the ground.

dscn0978

I’m going to have a second pond! This one is a green plastic dustbin lid that is about 21 inches diameter and, at most,  3 inches deep.  I’m hoping that the birds will use it as a bath and insects, such as dragonflies, will be attracted to it.

I’m aiming to do that, and build my new compost bin, sometime during  the next few weeks whilst the ground hopefully dries out enough to be able to start some serious plotting!

Here’s one of my plot best photos which is a reminder of sunny, warm days!

dscn0527

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Plot life

  1. Maureen says:

    Those are lovely photos, flighty! And the ladybird makes a very striking header picture. In the USA we call them “ladybugs” but whatever you call them, they are beautiful and good for the garden.

  2. Flighty says:

    Maureen thanks! I’m hoping that my logs provided a good winter home for them and that I’ll see plenty again this year. xx

  3. Georgie says:

    A cheerful sight indeed, Flighty, that lovely native Ladybird. Last year I had very few in my garden – then again there weren’t many aphids either – but I saw plenty of harlequins which didn’t please me at all. 😦

    I’m growing trailing Sweet Peas in some of my hanging baskets this year, I love their scent. I don’t seem to have much success growing them in pots though, they always get powdery mildew. Ho hum.

    G x

  4. Nice pic’s Flighty. Your Sweet Peas shot reminds me of when I was a lad and my Mum had a wall of them against the side of the shed. The smell was lovely.
    I like the idea of the ‘shallow’ pond from a dustbin lid too, what a great idea. I’ll look forward to seeing some pic’s on here of the wildlife using it.

  5. fraggle says:

    Thank you for the Birthday and valentines E-card x
    I love ladybirds we always tease carrie-ann about them as when a little child about 18 months one was on her sun canopy of her pushchair and her dad showed it her on his hand and she as quick as lightning went tweety (meaning sweety) and popped it in her mouth to eat it, poor ladybird ! x

  6. Flighty says:

    Georgie thanks! Thankfully I think that was the only harlequin one I saw.
    They sound nice. I guess that the mild, wet weather encourages mildew. Perhaps this year will be better! xx

  7. Flighty says:

    Assortedpixels my mum always grew them and had vases full of them through the summer.
    I shall report on the progress of the new pond, with photos of course! Cheers.

  8. Flighty says:

    Fraggle you’re welcome!
    They’re a popular insect. I’m sure that she’s not the only one that’s done that, but I’d guess that they don’t taste very nice ! xx

  9. 2times20 says:

    Great pics!!! The last one is my favourite, but the others are wonderful as well!

  10. Glo says:

    What a lovely bright and cheery entry 🙂 Nice to see the ladybird taking care of your sweet peas. I planted mine too late last year, but this year I will start earlier, because I also love them. Green spring things have started to sproing out of the ground here ~ wearing scarves and toques…it’s still darned cold. Looking forward to hearing and seeing the progress of the compost and the new green pond. I bet frog will tell all of his friends!

  11. nikkipolani says:

    Good memories, Flighty, and so much to look forward to! I’ve planted more sweetpeas as well. So we shall both have some blooms when spring comes 🙂 Yours in this image are very pretty in pink.

  12. Flighty says:

    2times20 thanks! I feel warm every time I look at that one! xx

  13. Flighty says:

    Glo many thanks! There were lots all over the plot so thanks to them not many aphids.
    I’m looking forward to growing sweet peas again.
    It’s the same here, having had just a few days of some drier warmer weather.
    I’ve no doubt that as soon as the new pond is done it will start to see visitors. I’m sure he will! xx

  14. Flighty says:

    Nikki it was good looking through my photos so you’ll be seeing a ‘few’ more!
    My sweet peas won’t be be planted until at least mid-spring so it’ll be well into the summer before they start flowering. xx

  15. Pandy says:

    I was once bitten by a harlequin ladybird – horrible little things!

    I love the photos, Flighty, especially the one of sweet peas – I love them as they’re so bright and cheery. The coming of spring is such a lovely time. It’s only mid February but our crocuses and daffys have already appeared!

    xxx

  16. Flighty says:

    Pandy I’ll remember that if I see any more!
    Thanks! You can thank Nikki as she sent me several packets.
    Yes it is, and hopefully will be a good one after the winter we’ve had! xx

  17. 2times20 says:

    Just trying the advice you gave me =)

  18. Flighty says:

    2times20 okay! The link back to your blog works fine! xx

  19. I can’t wait to get started on the garden this year. I’m vexed by a wormery that doesn’t eat and scat enough but other than that I’m planning for a large display of self-seeded californian poppies like yours.

  20. Flighty, I did not know there were so many different kinds of ladybugs (ladybirds)! Your sweetpea photo reminds me that we planted some. I hope they turn out as lovely as your picture. The poppy is very sunny indeed. It is nice to see the cheery color. We are having rain (which we need) but with sun around the corner I hope to have some color in the yard again soon.

  21. Flighty says:

    Shauna hello and thanks for stopping by!
    I know the feeling and I’m sure that all our fellow gardeners are the same.
    Sorry but I can’t offer any wormery advice.
    I’m hoping for lots of poppies again this year! xx

  22. Flighty says:

    Beginninghere it’s surprising isn’t it!
    The sweet peas in the photo were from a packet that Nikki sent me.
    Those poppies provide hotspots around the plot!
    There’s been enough rain here for the time being, and what we now need is drier, warmer weather!
    There should be some colour here in a month or so. xx

  23. Divastar says:

    Oh I LOVE ladybirds, they are one of the few creepy crawlies (along with big, fat, bumbling bumble bees) that I just adore. Lovely piccies Flighty! xxx

  24. tizwoz says:

    Hi Flighty, made it to your place at last. Some stunning photos on your last post, makes me think that Spring may just be round the corner!

  25. Liv says:

    Ahhh, your new header photo is so cute 🙂
    It’s coincidental that you posted two pics of ladybirds, and at the store yesterday I saw a little crystal ladybird – and it’s the middle of winter.

    One of my friends – no, two, I see Diva does also – loves ladybirds.

    Thanks for the warm and sunny flower. Yesterday was alright, but it’s snowing/sleeting/raining today. Brrr.
    xx

  26. Flighty says:

    Divastar me too, and bumble bees! Thanks! xx

  27. Flighty says:

    Tizwoz hello and welcome! Thanks, I think, and hope, that you’re right as it’s been a long winter this year. Cheers!

  28. Flighty says:

    Liv I’m glad that you like it! I think that they’re one of the first insects to be seen come a sunny spring day, in fact I’ve seen a report of some having already been seen.
    That shows just how popular ladybirds are!
    It’s been cloudy but into double figures here today and I’ve spent all day on the plot building my new compost bin! xx

  29. daffy says:

    Lovely photographs! Oh and a super lovely header. I think that may be my favourite. I don’t think I’ve seen a ladybird in ages!
    xx

  30. Flighty says:

    Daffy hello and thanks! I was beginning to wonder where you were!
    It’s mine too, at the moment. They hide away over the winter but as soon as it starts to get warmer they’ll be out enjoying the sun just like us!
    Take care! xx

  31. Liv says:

    Random, but I saw a MOTH the other night, outdoors, after some particularly frigid temps. How odd is that?
    xx

  32. Flighty says:

    Liv I know very little about moths* but it certainly sounds odd! xx

    * that is except those wonderful various Moth aeroplanes built by De Havilland in the 1930s!
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/De_Havilland_Moth

    And that reminds me that I must start doing posts on Looking skyward again!

Leave a Reply

