On the windowsill, April 2024

The first Tomato Red Robin I sowed was a no-show so I sowed another one which germinated and started growing in less than a week. It’s now over 1 in/2.5 cm tall and I’ll be replanting it into a 5 in/12.5 cm pot in a couple of weeks.   It’s shown below right, picture taken earlier in the month.

The Sunflower Big Smile (above left) is doing well and is now over 2 in/5 cm tall. It will also be replanted into a 5 in/12.5 cm pot when I do the tomato.

The English Daisies in a 3.5 in/9 cm pot, which I showed last month, have been flowering continuously with six flowers at one point.  I sowed a few seeds in a seed tray and most appeared and started growing.  I’ve repotted them in a couple of small  3 in/7.5 cm round terracotta plastic pots.

If you read last weeks Forget-me-nots post you’ll know that I’m trying both the common blue variety and a white one Snowsylva.  More about these in next months On the windowsill post.

Have a good weekend, and take care!

Author: Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flying book buff.

10 thoughts on “On the windowsill, April 2024”

  1. Those plantings are strong. The sunflower could move you out of pots and home, (to paraphrase a known one). What way does your windowsill face? I am also curious about the lowest temperatures at which your sunflower could thrive outside.
    XxxM

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Menhir thanks. The sunflower is a dwarf variety, and should only grow to around 16 in in a 5 in pot. The windowsill faces west and only gets direct sunlight from mid-afternoon because of the nearby trees. I doubt if sunflowers would survive frost but I won’t be even sowing the seeds of the ones I’m growing on the plot until next week, and when grown they don’t flower beyond September. xx

      Like

    1. Liz the plot ones I start off on the windowsill then take them to plant out in early June. This year they’ve been really slow to show then grow, as it’s far too cold and dull for them, so I may end up buying a few plants at the horticultural society plant sale in mid-May.  xx

      Like

  2. That’s pretty impressive for English daisies.

    Your sunflower seedling leaves look a lot like an okra seedling I picked up at the plant share for my mom.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.