Into April

I did some plotting on Monday, mostly hoeing round where I’ll planting the onions Sturon and first early potatoes Pentland Javelin.  I also re-weeded a couple of areas on the flower patch.

Yesterday I only looked round and pottered as it was all much too soggy again.

This is part of cosmos corner by the stone feature, which is roughly in the middle of the plot. This area has only been like this a couple of times before, and nowhere near as bad as this.

Something that is doing well is the rhubarb, but sadly the daffodils Sweetness seen below/in front of it have come up blind with no flowers.  I think that I may dig these up, and if the bulbs are okay replant them in a container.

Take care, and have a good weekend!

Author: Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flying book buff.

10 thoughts on “Into April”

  1. I am abroad and I’m seeing cool overnight temperatures and about 9-25C during the day. Also very warm and windy. Today started at 11 and may rise to 19. We’ve had some heavy short showers. It’s much more like I remember past spring weather. I am not looking forward to returning to cold and soggy conditions.
    Taking your bulbs home is a good idea. I am sure they would appreciate it. Xxx

    Like

  2. Oh dear, all that rain. You had a similar photo a couple of weeks ago in a different part of your plot, I think. But, at least your rhubarb is thriving. That’s good to see.

    Like

  3. Do we have the same plot Mike? I have had it at its worse for waterlogging, although I’ll find out on Saturday if that water tap in the donkey paddock has been switched off. Plus, my daffodils came up blind too this year!
    Anyway, happy plotting. Take care and have a good weekend too xx

    Like

  4. Shame about the blind daffodils, it does sometimes happen!

    It really is still so soggy though and we had yet more rain earlier today!

    Looking ahead to the weekend I wish you a good one.

    All the best Jan

    Like

  5. I’m not sure you’ve ever photographed just how soggy things can get on the plot – wow!

    I, too, have had blind daffs. I mostly ignore them and hope they come back some other year… hope yours can be salvaged.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.