I had hoped to do…

some plotting this week but although it’s much milder it’s also been fairly wet at times with some heavy rain.  I was at the horticultural society trading shed yesterday morning and did have a quick look round on my way home.

As I mentioned recently I’ve got my onion Sturon sets which I’m keeping in a paper bag until I plant them out late next month.

As I bought them loose I was able to ignore the too big or small ones, and also get just the quantity I wanted.  Here are some of them on a 7.5″/19 cm plate to show what they look like.

 

I’ve now put the seed potatoes out to chit on the windowsill in the spare room.  I bought first earlies Pentland Javelin which I’ve not tried before, second earlies Charlotte which are my favourite variety and main crop Desiree which I’ve grown most years.  These were also bought loose enabling me to get the size and quantity I wanted.   Here are two of each – Pentland Javelin (top), Charlotte (bottom left) and Desiree (bottom right) again just to show what they look like.

The weather forecast over the weekend and into next week shows it getting even warmer with temperatures almost up to 15 C/60 F and staying dry.  If that doesn’t change then it looks like I’ll be doing some plotting again at long last.

Take care, and have a good weekend!

Author: Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flying book buff.

20 thoughts on “I had hoped to do…”

  1. Good to see that you were able to get the onion sets and potato varieties you wanted. And, next week sounds as though you’ll be back at work on the plot.

    Like

  2. It’s great to be able to buy things loose isn’t it. The local garden shop has loose onions and also peas and beans of all varieties. It’s really cost-effective to be able to buy them like that, and good that I just need a paper bag. The frogs have suddenly appeared here, which I always think is a sure sign that the season is turning. CJ xx

    Like

  3. Lovely healthy looking onion sets and potatoes. I too will be interested how the Pentland Javelin potatoes turn out. It will be nice to get some warmth and sunshine on the ground to start drying up the sodden earth. Happy plotting. xx

    Like

  4. The week started off well here with sunshine and blue skies but it quickly turned to rain and it’s so muddy now. Being able to buy onions and potatoes loose is such a good idea, you can choose just the amount you need and look for the better specimens too that way. I’ve grown Pentland Javelin in the past and enjoyed them, I think I shall grow a few spuds in containers again this year.

    Like

  5. Keeping my fingers crossed that you do manage to get on your plot this weekend. Those onion sets look so healthy and shiny. How nice to be able to select them individually. One of the benefits of having allotment trade I guess.

    Like

    1. Allison thanks, I was there this morning. The onion sets didn’t look like that when I bought them only after I checked through them. It sure is. It is indeed. xx

      Like

  6. It’s all gradually coming together. Pentland Javelins are a useful potato. With the other two types, you should have a good trio to crop. All you want now is the appropriate weather patterns. 🙂
    xxxx

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.