It was good to see…

these crocuses Romance yesterday when I looked round yesterday. I just hope they open and don’t flop over as some have already done in the rain and wind.

The heavy overnight rain Tuesday night into yesterday morning hasn’t helped, and the plot is now very soggy again with some standing water down in the far corner.

 

 

 

This year I’m trying two new to me climbing bean varieties.  One is the French bean Fasold which has black seeds and purple flowers.  The other is the runner bean White Lady which has white seeds and flowers. I had problems with germination last year so, as I’m only growing six of each, I’ll be starting them off in pots on the windowsill at home rather than sowing direct.

There’s more heavy rain due later today before turning noticeably colder, but dry and sunny, for a few days.

Have a good weekend!

Author: Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flying book buff.

16 thoughts on “It was good to see…”

  1. so happy to see the crocuses, bulbs are such signs of hope; hope that these dark and chilly, wet days will come to an end in time and spring shall prevail! hurrah. I have such good feelings about this year and we are re-committing to the allotment = seedlings and bulbs and blossom – yikes!

    Like

  2. Lovely crocuses. I noticed snowdrops on my early morning dog walk today. I always struggle getting runner beans to germinate. Fasold is a new French bean to me, I shall look out for it. CJ xx

    Like

    1. Menhir no, that’s the edge of the plot next to the path down in the bottom corner. I hope it won’t providing the ground isn’t still soggy in a couple of months time. xx

      Like

  3. Your crocuses seem very early, they’re just poking through the soil here. I hope the weather hasn’t given them a beating. It’s much colder here this weekend than it has been but at least there’s been no rain.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.