Earlier this week…

I re-potted some of the plants that I have on the windowsill at home.

There are two tomatoes Sweet ‘n’ Neat, one each red and yellow, that are now in 7″ pots.

Tomato Sweet 'n' NeatI’m hoping that these do better than my previous rather poor attempts at growing tomatoes at home.

There are six Coleus Fairway, Extra Dwarf Formula Mixed grown from seed that I’ve put into individual 3 1/2″ pots.

Coleus 'Fairway'

I will probably end up keeping the best three, including one of the two green ones.

Albizzia jubilbrissinFran, a plot neighbour, recently gave me this plant but she didn’t know what it is.

All she could tell is that the leaves furl up at night, it has pink flowers and that she seen them in Egypt!

I think that it’s an Albizzia julibrissin, or Persian Silk Tree,  which is a member of the Mimosa family.

I’m hoping that it will flower during the summer. If it does I’ll obviously take a picture and post it.

 

Happy gardening, and have a good weekend!

[Click on any picture to see a larger image]

 

Author: Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flying book buff.

20 thoughts on “Earlier this week…”

  1. Do you have your tomatoes produce indoors? The coleus look attractive; they are so good in planters, I find. Will the Persian silk tree be inside too, or can it summer outside? There is a mimosa at the end of my street, it is enormous with branches overhanging the pavement and the pretty pink blooms in August. (Perhaps I should have followed that tree, then I wouldn’t have the responsibility for poor performance!)

    Like

    1. Liz just these two, the rest are out on the plot. The coleus will be indoor plants. I’ll probably keep the Persian Silk tree indoors as well, at least for this year. That mimosa sounds impressive, perhaps you should follow it next year. xx

      Like

  2. Very nice coleus. Good luck with your tomatoes! For some reason they don’t like me…the plants usually become very spindly and the birds and bugs get to the tomatoes at the first sign of color! Have a good weekend yourself!

    Like

  3. I’m just starting to get the first tomatoes on my plants, I think tomatoes and potatoes are the things I look forward to harvesting most each year. Will you grow the coleus outdoors or keep them as house plants? I don’t know your mystery plant so I shall look forward to hearing more about it once it flowers.

    Like

    1. Jo lucky you, my tomatoes aren’t doing well at all so far this year. I’ll be keeping these coleus as house plants. Fingers crossed that the mystery plant flowers. xx

      Like

  4. The leaves on your mystery plant certainly reminds me of mimosa. Nice to see your coleus making another showing this year. That lime green is my favorite, too. And good luck with those tomatoes!

    Like

    1. Nikki me too, but apparently the mimosa family includes some 400 plants! I’m pleased to be growing some coleus again. That’s a good choice. Thanks. xx

      Like

  5. That’s a new tomato variety to me, I shall look forward to seeing how it does. The Persian Silk Tree sounds very grand, I hope it does well. CJ xx

    Like

  6. You have some promising plantlings, sturdy and colourful. The fern-leaf type plant you show may hold surprises. It is always good when a plant you may have identified does what it should. If it doesn’t, therein lies the surprise! xx

    Like

  7. Here’s to your toms going from strength to strength! I sowed coleus, only one survived the slugs and it’s utterly tiny! Please keep all six of yours!!!xxx

    Like

  8. I remember a mimosa pudica in my biology class of long ago. They have pink pom pom flowers, leaves that furl up when you touch them. They are lovely but only thing, they have thorns. In malay language, they are called Bunga (flower) Semalu (shy) bacause of the leaves that furled up when touched. They are weeds where I come from back in Malaysia, as kids we used to roam around without shoes on, so it can be a pain stepping on accidentally.

    Like

    1. Alison thanks for your interesting comment. I didn’t realise that they had thorns.
      I sowed two lots of these seeds at home this year but none germinated. xx

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.