Into May

There were several unworkable areas, including cosmos corner, where I had forked the ground over a couple of weeks ago but as of last Friday were still the same.  However  by Monday, after a rainy weekend, I was able to easily use a hoe to break up the lumps much to my surprise.

The onions have grown noticeably and I’ve replaced less than a handful which were still dormant, and sowed the rest of the spares.

Yesterday I noticed a couple of the first early potatoes Pentland Javelin were now just showing.

 

I haven’t sown any Poached Egg Plant (Limnanthes douglasii) seeds as the few plants last year freely self-seeded and plenty have already appeared and flowered, including the all white variety Meringue.

There was a thunderstorm early this morning, along with bursts of heavy rain, and the next few days are looking rather unsettled so I probably won’t be doing much plotting again.

Have a good weekend, and take care!

Author: Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flying book buff.

8 thoughts on “Into May”

  1. Isn’t it good to see the results of your hard labor, with the onions and potatoes greenery poking through the soil. And, masses of poached egg plants!

    Like

  2. I do like the poached-egg plants 🙂

    We had quite a storm last night, I was pleased I was indoors … fortunately its passed by now.

    Have a good first weekend of May.

    All the best Jan

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.