Gardening Leave

This year some Allotments 4 All members, including myself, decided to support the small charity Gardening Leave with a Christmas donation from A4A and so far the total is over £600!

Member Daveyboi also generously decided to give six donating members a small surprise Christmas gift.  Everyone who had donated by 11th December chose a number between 1 and 49, and that evening’s six winning Lotto numbers decided who they were.

Mine was one of them but although I received my gift over a week ago I was a good boy and didn’t open it until yesterday when I was delighted to find chocolates, some large plastic plant name markers, a packet of courgette Black Hawk F1 seeds and a Thrive mug.

There was also a Thrive robin Christmas card which was nice as it was the same card that I sent to some of my family and friends!

We all received the same thoughtful and welcome gift which I’m sure we’ll be putting to good use.

This is a good cause that I’m more than happy to support so I’ve added it to my links list.

Author: Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flying book buff.

8 thoughts on “Gardening Leave”

  1. This was such a good idea, and a lot of thought must have gone into Daveyboi’s choice of gifts. I was also one of the six winners but I lacked the self-control shown by the others and opened mine as soon as it arrived!
    £600 is brilliant, well done to the organisers.

    Like

    1. Betty it certainly was. I’m sure that you weren’t the only one who didn’t wait until yesterday.
      It’s a terrific amount, and well done to all those who’ve donated! xx

      Like

  2. I always knew there were more good people in this world than bad ones.

    It is so lovely to hear of wonderful things people do, instead of all the ‘gloom and doom’.

    Have a lovely, productive, happy and healthy 2011 and may you continue blogging and making my days different.

    Like

    1. Mrs K you’re right of course but there are times when it doesn’t seem like it.
      It sure is and it would nice to hear about more of them wouldn’t it.
      Many thanks, I shall do my very best! xx

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.