At long last!

I’ve got lots done on the plot this week starting with planting the rest of bulbs, mostly tulips and a few daffodils, on Monday.  On Tuesday I donned my leather gardening gloves and pruned the blackberry bush which had got unruly.  Yesterday I cleared the cornflowers Polka Dot  which flowered profusely for several months.  These were the last few flowers.

This morning when I arrived I could see the teasel seed heads moving but there was no wind.  Moving closer I was delighted to see several goldfinches on them for the first time at long last!   I stood and watched as they removed and ate the seeds.  Later on they flew back and briefly perched on the dog rose.

All week the robin has been my constant, and generally close, companion.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to At long last!

  1. Liz says:

    Goldfinches eating teasel seeds, robin as company, pruning blackberry bush, and such pretty cornflowers! Can’t think of a more satisfying morning.

  2. snowbird says:

    Good to hear your goldfinches have found the teasel seeds, mine love them too! Just love your robin, any more fox sightings lately?xxx

  3. CJ says:

    I’ve noticed robins popping up here as well. Lovely to see those last few cornflowers, and always very satisfying to have a productive week garden wise. I have a list of things to be done outside here. All hands to the pump! Have a good weekend Flighty. CJ xx

  4. Jo says:

    Glad the goldfinches have finally found the teasels. It sounds like you’ve had a busy, but satisfying, week.

  5. Hurrah. I grew teasels for years before the gold finches found them, but they won’t forget them now and will return to the seed heads for months, so don’t cut them down!

  6. Chloris says:

    How sensible to wear leather gloves, my fingers are covered in nasty bramble spines as we speak; obviously totally inadequate gloves. I must grow some teasels to encourage lovely goldfinches. What a treat.

  7. Those flowers are such lovely colours.
    You can’t beat a robin and over the years I have found they do so often sit so near when you are gardening!

    Wishing you a lovely weekend

    All the best Jan

  8. Caro says:

    Just catching up on your posts, Flighty – so, first off, congratulations on celebrating your recent birthday, many more to come I hope! It’s been a good week weather wise for gardening (today was another glorious warm day outside) and with chillier weather looming, it must feel so good to get such a lot done! I still have a long list of jobs to do so I’m hoping for a bit more of this lovely autumnal weather. Have a good weekend, Caro x

    • Flighty says:

      Caro thanks. It sure has, and I’ve definitely made the most of it. There’s always a list of jobs, often a long one, to be done and me too. Thanks, and you too. xx

  9. Sounds like a perfect day. It’s not just about the plants is it, this gardening malarkey !

  10. Wonderful cornflowers, reminds me of summer. x

Leave a Reply

