Pleasing perennials

Twinkling Stars is the name that I gave to the aster pringlei Monte Cassino that I had on the plot until mid-last year. Sadly I then found that the roots had rotted in soggy ground and it was dead.  I was very grateful to plot neighbour George who gave me another one which I planted in different area which is okay all year.

I’ve been keeping watch as it’s grown and it’s now been flowering the past couple of weeks with masses of thumb-nail sized white flowers which have a yellow centre.  I’m really pleased that I have this pleasing perennial on the plot again.

At the top of the picture you can see the hydrangea which is another pleasing perennial that I’ve enjoyed during the summer and autumn,  providing several flower heads and leaves that are now turning red.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Pleasing perennials

  1. Jo says:

    I’m glad you managed to get hold of another Twinkling Star plant, it such a lovely flower. I had a hydrangea in a pot which didn’t really do much so I put it in the ground hoping it would do better but sadly, it hasn’t. I do like hydrangeas, they provide so much interest.

  2. Liz says:

    It is nice to see the flowering perennials that soldier on until frost. Your aster looks a little like my “Sheffield” perennial chysanthemum in form, single petal. The flower is a little larger and salmon pink. How pretty the turning leaves of the hydrangea are.

  3. Linda Penney says:

    Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed Sundayafternoon

  4. Bees adore those lovely late flowers too,
    Xx

  5. menhir1 says:

    Those asters do appear like twinkling stars, very pretty indeed. Your hydrangea leaves are putting on quite an Autumn show. xxx

  6. Sharon says:

    I’m not a great fan of asters, but that one is very pretty – I may be converted!

  7. CJ says:

    Lovely twinkling stars, I bet the bees love it. I’ve got a hydrangea in a pot which is at a similar stage. It’s only recently flowered – a bit late in the season really as it’s getting battered now. Have a good week Flighty. CJ xx

  8. Doris Potter says:

    I love your Twinkling Stars!

  9. nikkipolani says:

    That is a sweet looking aster — how nice that you have a replacement from a generous fellow plotter.

  10. Caro says:

    I lost one of my Twinkling Star plants for the same reason this year, Flighty. Luckily the others seem to have survived but I’ll be planting them with plenty of grit as they’re a perennial that I definitely want to keep alive! Pleasing Perennials is a lovely phrase and sums them up wonderfully. xx

  11. snowbird says:

    Twinkling stars is a lovely aster, good that you have it back again. I must look out for one, it is pretty.xxx

Leave a Reply

