A week too late

The gazania Daybreak that I have on the window sill at home finally fully flowered again yesterday, a week too late for the show.

It’s the third time it’s flowered, roughly once a month, and the plant now fills the five inch pot that it’s in.

I’m really taken with these plants and flowers so I’ve decided to grow Talent Mixed from seed next year, which is a variety that has silvery-coloured foliage.  There are five colours – orange, red shades,  rose shades, white and yellow.

The red shades are more bronze/brown and the yellow flowers are a solid colour.  These are the two I particularly like but I’ll be happy with whatever I get to germinate, grow and flower.  Perhaps I’ll even have one in flower for next year’s show.

Have a good week!

(The second picture with thanks to Benary)

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A week too late

  1. They are a lovely flower, we have some in our back yard and I love the way the sun makes them open up.

  2. Jo says:

    Gazanias come in such lovely, zingy colours. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed with what you get.

  3. menhir1 says:

    Plants rarely grow to order do they. There’s a timing knack involved in it, somewhere along the line. Your Gazania’s are a very lively type of plant and they do have a delightful colour range. I believe I planted some outside in a large pot together with Petunias… the invitingly warm orange mix variety that you show. I just couldn’t remember what the plants were called. I wonder, if I had attempted a windowsill pot, if the blooms would have been larger. Not sure though, as the heads were not particularly large to begin with.

    My decorative thistley things, (very professional naming you will note) are in their second year and only just starting to cover themselves in bloom for the fist time with a pale blue flower. With the weather and temperatures we’re ‘enjoying’ I doubt they’ll have enough time to complete the process before true winter is upon us.

    A warming picture Mr F

    xxxx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir that’s for sure. If there is I wish I knew what it is. Some varieties have larger flowers than others.
      I hope that the thistles do flower properly for you to enjoy.
      Thanks. xx

  4. CJ says:

    What a gorgeous group of gazanias, well worth having a go at next year. Have a good week Flighty. CJ xx

  5. Liz says:

    Isn’t it maddening when our plants don’t conform to our calendars?! Your later bloomer is a beauty. Tell it to behave next year!

  6. Linda Penney says:

    Awesome update thank you for sharing have a lovely week blessing as always

  7. Flighty says:

    Linda thanks, you’re welcome. and you too. xx

  8. karen says:

    Aren’t they gorgeous. Such a shame they were too late for the show. Beautiful, anyway. Hope you are enjoying your week. I’m cutting flowers ahead of the big storm that’s predicted tonight. Hope people don’t suffer too much damage. xx

  9. snowbird says:

    What a shame that beauty didn’t get in the show! At least you get to enjoy it though. You certainly will have a wonderful show next year, looking forward to seeing how they grow.xxx

Leave a Reply

