What a palaver!

On the window sill at home the regal pelargonium White Splash has grown well and flowered again.

I’m hoping to enter the other pot plant, a gazania Daybreak,  in the show as it’s just about to flower again for the third time. Although it looks like being touch-and-go as to whether it will be in bloom by Saturday.

 

 

On Monday I wasn’t surprised to find the the tomato plants had succumbed to blight as the site just across the road has had it for a couple of weeks.  Thankfully I’d already picked plenty of fruit over the previous few weeks, and given much of it away.  The black ones are still mostly black but a few have changed to a blotchy red which indicates that they’re ripe. I cut one open to find that it was dark red, and found that it tasted rather bland so I don’t think I’ll be growing them next year.  The picture shows the large Legend, popular Gardener’s Delight, yellow Golden Sunrise, and a few of the red/yellow Sunrise Bumble Bee.

This morning I took my show entry form round to Christine, the show secretary.  I’m a bit surprised that I’ve entered ten classes, although that might change slightly.  Tomorrow morning I’ll be picking, and sorting, climbing French and runner beans then after lunch checking that everything is okay and ready for Saturday.   What a palaver!

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to What a palaver!

  1. anna nicolopulo says:

    Love the word palaver!! 🙂 🙂 Good luck at the show. I’m tempted to enter a few things at our local show but feel a bit nervous…not sure what the protocol is regards the actual displaying of them ie ….paper plate, china plate, sand ARGHH!!!! 😀

    • Flighty says:

      Anna me too, it’s a word my mum used. Thanks. Have a go, and don’t worry too much about displaying as the organisers should be happy to help any novices. Look at what others do and note for next year. xx

  2. Liz says:

    Mike, it may seem like a palaver right now, but you’ll feel glad you entered when all is said and done. I’ve entered floral displays and horticulture specimens for years. Never quite sure why judges like some things one year and not the next, but it is fun. Ten entries! Good luck!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz you quite right and I’m just about sorted (I think). Good for you. That’s often said about the judges and judging. Yes, it looks like ten. Thanks. xx

  3. Linda Penney says:

    Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  4. Chloris says:

    Good luck, looking forward to hearing about all your prizes.

  5. menhir1 says:

    I’m sure you’re loving every gardening second Mr F. I grant, form filling can be an administrative time filler. It wouldn’t be my favourite activity. In general, your crop looks good. Xxx

  6. Jo says:

    I shall keep my fingers crossed for you, though the taking part is fun even if you don’t win anything. I think it’s important to support these type of shows as many are slowly disappearing.

  7. CJ says:

    Ooh, exciting, I’m wishing you the best of luck. The tomatoes look great, a shame about the blight, but I think we’re used to it by now. Interested to hear what you thought of the dark ones. I’ve never managed to grow any. That pelargonium is a delight, so unusual. I hope Saturday goes well. CJ xx

  8. karen says:

    It’s worth it though. Looking good there Mike. Good luck with your show entries 🙂 xx

  9. snowbird says:

    I have everything crossed for you….fingers and toes! Foxy is a given, can’t wait to hear how it all went. Good luck!xxx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    Good luck to you in your chosen categories! Love the look of that petite pelargonium. I’m surprised the black tomatoes weren’t flavorful — we get some dark brown/greenish ones here (I forget the name) that have very good flavor, though it’s disconcerting to bite into something that color.

Leave a Reply

