It makes a welcome change…

to have sunny, warm weather over the August Bank Holiday weekend, with tomorrow set to reach the high 20’s C (80F).

During the week I lifted the last onions after which I weeded then hoed the area over.  I did the same with the potato patch, but as I only lifted them using a hand fork I now need to carefully fork it over as I’m sure I’ll find plenty more.

The knee-high sunflowers Music Box are still flowering. Here are two contrasting ones, with lemon-yellow and the more usual yellow with a dark centre.

   

The nasturtiums include these pale yellow ones growing among the cosmos.

Enjoy the rest of the weekend, and have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to It makes a welcome change…

  1. anna nicolopulo says:

    The flowers are beautiful and am loving the pale nasturtiums!! 🙂

  2. Liz says:

    Sunny yellow flowers! Very pretty.

  3. Jo says:

    I was only thinking earlier how unusual it is to have such lovely weather on a bank holiday, it certainly makes a welcome change. Lovely sunflowers and the pale lemon nasturtium is so pretty.

  4. CJ says:

    A morning’s gardening here after a week away, so I’m feeling slightly more in control of it all. Fantastic sunflowers, and I love those pale nasturtiums, they’re really unusual. Have a good Monday Flighty, the weather is set fair I think. CJ xx

  5. Nichola x says:

    It’s been delightful having some sunshine I must agree! Attempted to sit & enjoy it but couldn’t help pottering about. I love the lighter sunflowers I’ve not seen those before! Hope the sunny weather continues. Have a fab weekend Mike 😊

  6. I love those pale yellow sunflowers, do you cut them?

  7. menhir1 says:

    It is a bit like a lucky dip, forking over soil in which potoatoes have been grown. We’ve found a number that way after pulling up the Shaws. We still have some growing; the treasure hunt will go on a while longer. Xxx

  8. Lovely colours! Digging up potatoes is my favourite job as it is like finding buried treasure.xx

  9. nikkipolani says:

    I’m liking 80F more and more (it was 102F yesterday) and the sunshiny yellow of your flowers. Your freshly dug potatoes and onions sound heavenly.

  10. snowbird says:

    I often miss potatoes and find they grow the following year producing a fairly good yield. Loving those different shades of yellow and lemon. How I wish I could grow onions.xxx

Leave a Reply

