Crocuses, tulips and cosmos

It was mostly damp and dull the past couple of days so I spent the afternoons browsing several of the new bulb catalogues.

I’ve always grown crocuses on the plot, generally in the long planter and partly around the rose Pretty Lady. Last year I planted the white variety Snow Bunting under the dog rose and was pleased with them.  This year I’m going to plant the yellow variety Romance  by the rose Pretty Lady,  having dug up all the assorted old ones after they finished flowering and had died back.

I like to see tulips flowering en masse but really don’t have the room to do that so when I have grown them it’s just been in a container.  This year I’ve bought fifty Toronto which is a dwarf, multi-headed red variety.  I’ll be planting most, if not all, of them out on the plot but I’m still unsure whereabouts.

It’s been breezy, bright and dry today so I spent a couple of hours this morning just pottering as it really was too soggy to do anything after a day of almost continual rain yesterday. Thankfully the forecast is looking okay into next week so I’ll be continuing to dig up potatoes, lift onions and pick climbing beans.

I’ll be doing a post in the near future about the cosmos I’ve grown this year meanwhile here’s one of the yellow Xanthos which is still flowering floriferously.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Crocuses, tulips and cosmos

  1. menhir1 says:

    Xanthos are quite a frivolous-looking flower. Really sweet to look at. Your tulip plans sound a wee bit of a challenge. I was wondering if you could derive an en masse effect with ground set bulbs and a combination, close to them, of long planters on stepped levels, (an auditorium of bright Tulips) abutting the stage. …. just a thought.
    xxx

  2. I envy your cosmos. I forgot to plant any this year and I am missing the dead heading to keep them flowering for months. Happy plotting x

  3. Linda Penney says:

    Thank you for sharing awesome update as always have a blessed weekend

  4. Liz says:

    Decisions on what to plant where! Your Xanthos are very pretty.
    We have ordered the autumn-flowering saffron crocus for the herb garden, to be delivered next week for immediate planting. I hope they last more than one year because they were quite pricey.

  5. Jo says:

    It’s exciting browsing the bulb catalogues and deciding what you’re going to grow, it can be quite hard though as there’s such a vast choice. I love that variety of cosmos, so pretty.

  6. I grew cosmos like these this year for the first time and they are lovely, much smaller than I expected and I ended up with a double petalled pink one as well x

  7. Sharon says:

    I look forward to seeing the tulips in full bloom next spring.

  8. CJ says:

    Love the yellow cosmos, they’re such a good long-lasting flower aren’t they. It’s so enjoyable looking for things to plant for the next season, the tulips sound lovely. Have a good weekend Flighty. CJ xx

  9. Julie says:

    Hi Flighty.. I’ve decided to return to the land of blogging. I’m in love with that yellow cosmos.. it is so pretty. Have a good weekend. xx

  10. snowbird says:

    It’s always enjoyable planning ahead, good luck sorting a spot for the tulips. Your cosmos is gorgeous, I lost all mine this year, that dratted greenhouse mouse has much to answer for.xxx

Leave a Reply

