Tree following, August 2017

Liz’s Tulip poplar –  Liz isn’t doing a post this month so we”ll have to wait until next month to see how much taller her tree has grown over in Lexington, Kentucky.

Flighty’s Dogwood – At long last I’ve decided that my tree is a Cornus sanguinea, and here’s a view of it taken from the roadway that runs through the allotment site.

  

I’ll have to prune it again soon to keep it to a reasonable height.  The foliage at the bottom of the picture are the Michaelmas daisies.   The berries are now black but there aren’t that many of them so I’m wondering if birds have been eating them.

It’s good to see that Lucy is tree following again on her new Loose and Leafy in Halifax blog, having recently moved there from the south coast.

Thanks as usual to Pat, The Squirrelbasket, for hosting Tree following.

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Tree following, August 2017

  1. Linda Penney says:

    Blessing in sharing Flighty lovely post as normal

  2. Jo says:

    I’m not very familiar with dogwoods so I’m wondering how you’ve decided on it being Cornus sanguinea, is it because of the berries?

    • Flighty says:

      Jo the leaves, flowers and berries all match. Also as a native tree it’s the likeliest possibility. I’m happy to be proved wrong if anyone tells me otherwise. xx

  3. menhir1 says:

    An attractive leaf on the very very full tree. It appears to be happy. xxx

  4. I imagine I’ve seen a dogwood – but never knowingly so.
    Thanks for the mention. It’s good to be Tree Following again. My posts have been erratic over the last . . what? . . year? It’s all to do with moving such a very long distance. Finding a tree I’m comfortable with is definitely part of beginning to feel ‘at home’.

  5. Looks like a dog wood to me! The first thing I planted in my new garden was a dogwood seedling that was coming up in the lawn and it looks about as big as yours. They are great for wildlife and tough as old boots. You can always tell a dog wood leaf if when you gently break a leaf, the long fibres of the viens are still connected. Try it!

    • Flighty says:

      Cathy and to me, it’s the variety I was never really sure of. Good for you, mine self-seeded too. That’s good to know. I’ll try that and let you know what I find. xx

  6. Liz says:

    Your dogwood, Cornus sanguinea, appears to be thriving. How interesting that the stems vary in color depending on whether they are in sun or shade.
    My tulip poplar continues to thrive, so I’ll try to catch up next month. Thanks!

    • Flighty says:

      Liz thanks, it’s always done well so far. Yes it is.
      That’s good to know and I look forward to your catch up next month. You’re welcome. xx

  7. Nice one. I see from Wikipedia that the berries are sometimes called dogberries, which is making me think all Shakespearean…
    Thanks for the update 🙂

  8. snowbird says:

    Those berries are interesting, I don’t seem to get many on my dogwoods.xxx

  9. Pingback: Tree following link box for August 2017 | The Squirrelbasket

Leave a Reply

