The start of August

I’m enjoying the sunflowers and here are two knee-high Music Box which have light-coloured centres, rather than the more common dark ones.

    

I’ve started picking, and eating, the first sweet corn cobs.

I’ve let the tomatoes get a bit out of hand and when I was trying to sort them out and tidy them up during the week I was surprised to see how much fruit there is on them.  Here are some of the small Gardener’s Delight and a large Legend.

  

They need some warm sunshine to start ripening them.

Plot neighbour Trevor gave me a small plant a couple of months ago but wasn’t sure if it was a courgette or squash.  It’s grown into a mound of very large leaves under which are plenty of big yellow flowers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On Friday I found that it’s a white patty pan squash plant and here’s the first fruit. It’s about five inches diameter and a couple of inches deep at the centre.

As to what I do with it remains to be seen.  Apparently they can be eaten raw or cooked in various ways.  Maybe I’ll just give it away as I’m sure there’ll be more before too long.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The start of August

  1. Mark Willis says:

    The Patty Pan squash can be used in the same ways as a courgette. That sweetcorn of yours looks really good!

  2. Jo says:

    I love patty pan squash, I usually chop them into cubes, drizzle with a little oil and roast. I came home from holiday to find that my tomatoes are just starting to ripen, I’m sure yours won’t be far behind.

  3. CJ says:

    Lovely little sunflowers. The patty pan looks good too. I was overwhelmed with them one year, they’re very prolific! Your tomatoes are doing well. I’m growing Gardener’s Delight for the first time in years. CJ xx

  4. Susie Dixon says:

    Your tomatoes are doing well. Love your pics. Thank you for your advice re potatoes.

  5. menhir1 says:

    What a luscious and interesting harvest. Your mini tomatoes resemble gooseberries at the moment ;

    Aren’t the Sunflowers a joy! they look much more delicate than their dark centred relatives.

    xxx

  6. Liz says:

    You have the makings of a good meal there! The sunflowers are delightful.

  7. The left hand sunflower is very pretty. Gardeners Delight are my favourite of all tomatoes – especially if eaten straight from the plant while the sun is on them . Once started, can’t stop!

  8. Aren’t sunflowers a cheerful flower, I like your photo’s here.

    All the best Jan

  9. snowbird says:

    I just love sunflowers! Your sweetcorn looks just perfect, and the tomatoes look like they are about to ripen soon. You were talking about black tomatoes not so long ago, I thought of you when one of my plants grew black tomatoes, how that seed got into the packet I don’t know. At first I thought there was something wrong with them then remembered your post. I ate a few and was surprised at how tasty they were, better than the plum and cherry ones. Hope you enjoy your patty pan.xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird good for you, I do too. I’m well pleased with both. It’s interesting what you say about black tomatoes, I’m still waiting for mine to ripen. I gave that patty pan away but there’s more on the way and I will try one. xx

Leave a Reply

