Flowers

I’ve grown the annual flowers that I usually do, especially pot marigolds, cornflowers, cosmos and sunflowers.  Along with these I’ve grown viscaria which caught my eye in the Chiltern Seeds catalogue when I read the description…A cottage garden plant, thought by some to be one of the most beautiful of hardy annuals, that deserves a revival.  It’s not shown in several of my flower books, including The Flower Expert, so I googled it to find out more.  I bought a packet of Formula Mixed Colours , including azure-blue, salmon-rose, scarlet and white, which grow to around 18″/40 cm.  They took ages to germinate and were slow to grow then flower but were well worth the wait.

I’ll be growing viscaria again next year but will probably try Angel Mixed  which includes the same colours but only grows to 12″/30 cm, so should better withstand the rain and wind on my rather exposed plot.

It was the wonderful poet Wendy Cope‘s birthday recently when I saw a list of her ten best poems quoted including the delightful Flowers.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Flowers

  1. Catherine says:

    How lovely. Reminds me of my much missed father who nearly bought my mum flowers on many an occasion! He got much better once I took over the reminding!!

  2. Linda Penney says:

    Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed Sunday

  3. CJ says:

    Wonderful poem and beautiful flowers on your plot. I did some deadheading yesterday, rather a lot of soggy brown petals after the rain. But plenty of buds still to come. CJ xx

  4. Liz says:

    I’m unfamiliar with viscaria, but they are certainly pretty.
    Sweet poem, also made me laugh with familiarity!

  5. I have many vases of imaginary flowers too! Sweet post.x

  6. menhir1 says:

    A never-ending fantasy of flowers, made me smile. Your camera handled the vivid floral colours well. xxx

  7. Ha that poem is rather amusing Flighty, thanks for sharing it.

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Oh that viscaria is a beauty — so bright and whimsical. I wonder if it would do here…

  9. snowbird says:

    Oh, viscaria is indeed beautiful! I’ve never grown it but certainly shall now. What a lovely poem.xxx

Leave a Reply

