For one reason and another…

this morning was the first time I’ve done any plotting since the end of last week.

I did have a quick look round on Sunday morning when I saw Foxy who came across the plot. Sadly she was limping, holding her front left paw off the ground.  I hope that she’s okay and it’s now better.

 

I was on my way to the horticultural society trading shed where I was on duty.  Whilst there I bought this small Regal Pelargonium White Splash for thirty pence.

 

 

 

 

I hadn’t been on the plot long this morning before this young robin joined me and stayed around all the time I was there.  More often than not it was little more than a few inches away from my feet or hands.

 

 

 

It’s good to see my Flighty’s favourites pot marigolds beginning to flower en masse again.

I dug up more beetroot and potatoes, picked a cucumber along with some blackberries and raspberries then came home just before it started raining.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to For one reason and another…

  1. Catherine says:

    I do love it when robins join in!

  2. Linda Penney says:

    Awesome update thank you for sharing, have a good weekend

  3. Liz says:

    What a grand sight those calendula are! Hope Foxy’s paw is better. What fun to have the cheeky robin there with you at the plot.

  4. Love the marigolds. The petals are great in a salad if you want to look posh!

  5. Jo says:

    This is the time of year when you can sit back a little and reap the rewards of your efforts. Poor Foxy, I do hope she’s okay when you see her again, and how lovely to have a robin join you on the plot, they’re such good company whilst you’re doing a bit of digging.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I agree, but I like to look round most days if I can even if I don’t do any plotting. It was sad to see her like that. I’d miss not having a robin around around whilst I’m there that’s for sure. xx

  6. CJ says:

    That sounds like a nice summer harvest. It’s always lovely to have a robin keeping you company at the allotment isn’t it. I hope the fox is okay too, do let us know. Gorgeous marigolds, I trust the rain hasn’t battered them too much. A quick deluge here just now – no evening watering needed except for the pots. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ thanks I was pleased with it. It certainly is, and I’m always happy to see them. Me too, I will. The marigolds seem to keep going regardless of the weather. Same here. xx

  7. menhir1 says:

    It probably does both you and the plot some good to settle. It carries on producing, the plants do what they do while you can enjoy the floral displays and the fruits of theirs and your work…”have a little time to smell the roses”.

    I was quite taken with the wee Pelargonium. Little robin was a bonus. I am hoping my Calendula will show some sign of becoming vigorous. I’ve had a few flowers falteringly blooming.

    Xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir you’re probably right, and that’s certainly what I aim for at this time of year.
      Me too. It’s always nice when a young robin appears. Fingers crossed for your pot marigolds. xx

  8. snowbird says:

    Oh, the poor fox. If it doesn’t improve they have a fox rescue who will come out and trap it up your way, they would return it to you when it recovers although maybe she has cubs so couldn’t be trapped. I do hope she gets better soon. Love Flighty’s faves and your little robin, they really are delightfully tame creatures aren’t they?xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird thanks, we’ll decide what to do once we see her again and see if she’s looking better. Me too.
      This young robin is much tamer than most I’ve seen on the plot over the years. xx

  9. Lovely cheery post Mike, have a lovely weekend too xx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    That’s a sweet pelargonium. Hope it will prosper for you! Oh, how refreshing that summer rain sounds.

  11. Hope Foxy is OK, keep us posted please. As always your marigolds are a sight for sore eyes. x

Leave a Reply

