Delights and surprises

I really am delighted at how well the hydrangea has done given that it was badly frosted at the end of April.  The foliage regrew and it now has three flower heads.  The buds appeared white but gradually changed to pink as they opened and got bigger.

 

Earlier in the year I thought that the crocosmia wasn’t going to do very well as the leaves were turning brown due to a lack of water and both clumps were sparse in the middle. However much to my surprise they’re now looking as good as they ever have with lots of bright orange-red flowers.  They really need lifting and replanting but it’s a job that I’ve keep putting off.

 

 

As well as the yellow gladioli that I bought I was given a handful of corms but the colour and variety were unknown.  I planted them in a bucket sized container rather than in the ground. They’ve all now appeared and have white flowers.

 

 

In early June I was given a tomato plant by my plot neighbour Trevor who said that the fruit were black but he didn’t know the variety.  I posted a picture of them on the Facebook group Allotment Life page early last week and got around 200 responses!

I’ll let you know what they look inside and taste like after I’ve picked and eaten one.

There was plenty of rain last week with thundery downpours overnight on Tuesday, showers on Thursday and wet most of yesterday so I didn’t get to do much plotting. There’s more rain on the way after lunch but the week ahead looks like being mostly dry.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Delights and surprises

  1. Nichola x says:

    This is one of the best feelings with gardening. It’s always full of surprises & just when you feel like giving up hope something magical happens 😊 Sounds like you are having some great successes Mike & it’s lovely to see some gorgeous pics 😊

  2. Mark Willis says:

    One of the best “surprises” is that Nature is so resilient, and plants recover so well from a whole range of adversities!

  3. Lovely hydrangeas. We have had rainy finally too and the slugs have reappeared and eaten mine!

  4. Liz says:

    The hydrangea is very pretty. Your crocosmia are doing much better than mine. The tomatoes look intriguing. I have eaten “heirloom” tomatoes that were dark like yours and they were delicious. Let us know how yours taste!

  5. Hard to keep an orange crocosmia down for long! (One of my favourite flowers.) The tomatoes – I hope they taste good but for all the appeal of something different I can’t say I find their looks make me want to eat them.

  6. CJ says:

    Loads of rain here today – no watering required! The tomatoes look intriguing, I’ll be interested to know what they look like. Love the white gladioli, so dramatic. My hydrangea had a similar frosty start but has lovely foliage now. I’ve been feeding it with camellia food. Not many flowers this year, but it’s only in its second year. Have a lovely week Flighty. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ the rain has certainly been needed. I agree, and me too. Me too. It sounds like you’re cossetting your hydrangea. Thanks, and you too. xx

  7. snowbird says:

    Good to see that hydrangea looking so healthy. The white gladioli are really pretty, must look out for some of those. Oh my goodness, black tomatoes, I have never seen one, can’t wait to find out what they taste like.xxx

  8. Linda Penney says:

    Awesome update thank you for sharing have a blessed day

  9. Great post thanks for sharing, must say i am intrigued by the black tomatoes not seen them before!

  10. The hydrangea looks lovely and what a gorgeous colour.
    It’s been cooler today … but still plenty of puddles around from the rain that came down over the weekend.

    Hope the rest of your week goes well.

    All the best Jan

  11. Jo says:

    I didn’t used to like hydrangeas but, just like roses, I’ve come to love them over the past few years. Crocosmia gets such a bad name but I love it, I have some in my garden but it doesn’t seem to do very well. I’ve tried dividing it but that hasn’t helped. Those tomatoes really are black, I don’t think I’ve ever seen any so dark skinned, I look forward to hearing how they taste. Mine are a way off ripening yet.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo good for you, I’ve always liked both. It does sadly but I like it too. It’s a shame that yours doesn’t do very well. They sure are, nor me and I look forward to trying one. xx

  12. menhir1 says:

    Those Tomatoes, Mr F, are the real cherry on your allotment aren’t they. The other flowers are looking very pleased with themselves. xxx

  13. nikkipolani says:

    Hurray for that resilient hydrangea! As for lifting crocosmias… I’ve gone the lazy route and simply pulled them out by the handful. Whatever remains seems to consider themselves “divided” and carry on the following season 😉

Leave a Reply

