Still looking around the plot

Most of the nasturtiums so far this year have been red flowering ones.  Here is the variety Tip Top Mahogany.

The sunflowers are now all flowering, including the variety Holiday.

 

I’ve started lifting the second early potatoes Charlotte as the foliage has already died right back.  I will store the bigger ones to use through the autumn into the winter.

 

 

 

 

None of the climbing French beans Borlotti that I sowed germinated so I sowed more of the variety Sultana and runner beans Moonlight which  did.  The earlier ones have reached the cane tops and are flowering.

 

 

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Still looking around the plot

  1. CJ says:

    Love those white runner beans. I always find bean germination a bit of a lottery. I’ve grown Celebration this year for runners, the lovely salmon pink one. And some Cobra – climbing French beans – too, but only a handful. Your potatoes are amazing, absolutely flawless. Nice job! Have a lovely weekend Flighty. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ what with mice, slugs and birds I’m always a bit surprised that I get any to grow. I like the varieties you’re growing. Charlotte potatoes are generally always good lookers, as well as good eaters. Thanks. You too. xx

  2. Liz says:

    Your “mahogany” nasturtiums are a lovely colour and the sunflower is gorgeous. Those potatoes look so good.

    • Flighty says:

      Liz they’re a lovely deep velvet red. I’m pleased with that sunflower, and the others. The potatoes also taste as good as they look. xx

  3. nikkipolani says:

    Lots of cheery sights on your plot! Is Borlotti supposed to be difficult to germinate?

    • Flighty says:

      Nikki thanks. As far I know they’re no more so than any of the climbing beans. I think that I was just unlucky with these ones this year. xx

  4. Gorgeous colours. I think my charlottes are ready to lift too. The problem is we eat them all so quickly when they are dug. How do you keep them?

    • Flighty says:

      Cathy I make sure all the potatoes I store are undamaged, clean and dry. The bigger ones keep better and longer. I keep them in paper sacks or in plastic bread baskets under the bed in the spare room. I check them every few weeks or so to make sure they’re okay. xx

  5. The slugs wiped out my sunflowers whilst we were away on our travels.

  6. snowbird says:

    My beans disappeared, each and every plant! I do like those red nasturtiums, what a rich colour. Marvelous sunflower too. Charlotte potatoes are looking wonderful!xxx

  7. Chloris says:

    Lovely jolly nasturtiums and sunflowers. I am enjoying Charlotte potatoes too, they have a superb flavour.

  8. Carrie Gault says:

    Wow, those nasturtiums made me stop and think if you had photo-shopped them! They are beautiful and so very unlike the usual ones. Sorry you had trouble with Borlotti but there’s still plenty of time to get a tasty harvest from your new babies. You grow great spuds! xxx

  9. Jo says:

    Those nasturtiums are a gorgeous colour and a bit different from usual too. I never tire of seeing sunflowers, I haven’t grown any this year so it’s nice to share yours.

Leave a Reply

