Pottering rather than plotting

 

It’s been a dry and sunny week, and has got rather warm again.  I’ve been mostly pottering rather than plotting, and yesterday I made a start on dead-heading the pot marigolds.

 

 

 

This morning I went there early to water all round. I’d opened up the shed and when I turned round saw that Foxy had been resting under the nearby dogrose.  She stayed there quite unperturbed whilst I got the watering cans out.  I think that she was hoping to see my plot neighbour Fran who feeds her tasty titbits.

As you can see the knee-high sunflowers Music Box are flowering well.

 

 

It’s been good to see quite a lot of butterflies fluttering around during the week, and included Small Skippers,  Speckled Woods and Large/Small Whites.  This was the only reasonable picture that I managed to take, it’s a Small Skipper on the lavender.

 

 

The gazania Daybreak that I mentioned and showed in last Sunday’s post has been opening fully in the sunshine and is an amazing silky orange.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Pottering rather than plotting

  1. Mark Willis says:

    Yes, this week I have been doing a lot of pottering too – nothing too strenuous. Like you I have seen quite a few butterflies, which is nice because last year there seemed to be very few. BTW you should have titled your post “The Orange week” or something – all your photos contain lots of yellow or orange colour (reflecting the temperatures?). The Gazania is spectacular.

  2. Deborah Vass says:

    How wonderful to have such a beautiful fox as a visitor!

  3. Linda Penney says:

    Lovely update thank you for sharing and blessing as always Flighty

  4. Liz says:

    I do love Foxy — plotting companion. Gorgeous calendula and gazania. Nice, sunny colour!

  5. nikkipolani says:

    Foxy seems to like your plot for the waiting room.
    Those marigolds are so cheery — Willow has been making calendula oil out of hers and I’ve been using some topically (purchased, not Willow’s) for some canker sores. Great flowers!

  6. menhir1 says:

    Your Gazania is a marvellous denouement to this post.

    Foxy amongst the Sunflowers will make quite a picture. They are coming on very well. Are the Sunflowers going to be very tall ones?

    Super array of Marigolds and if I may so,you have a rather good butterfly picture too. xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir yes indeed.
      The Music Box ones are a dwarf variety but there a few others that will be taller, perhaps 4/5 feet..
      Thanks, and I’m pleased with any butterfly pictures that I manage to take. xx

  7. Carrie Gault says:

    Foxy would be very welcome to visit our plot (when Toby’s not there) aside from horses and unicorns they are my fave animals. Love your sunflowers, it breaks my wee heart that I didn’t have anywhere to plant the ones you sent me this year. But I’ll figure out a space for next season xxx

  8. CJ says:

    Fantastic gazania. Love the picture of the fox, she’s so tame now. The little sunflowers are brilliant. I hope you have a lovely weekend. Good to water in the early part of the day before it gets too hot. I did the garden this evening and it was quite cool by then too. Still lots of water needed though. CJ xx

  9. Hope you enjoyed the warm weather, the marigolds would certainly have loved it and of course the gazania. I haven’t seen too many butterflies here this year. Fingers crossed they are just late starters. x

  10. Jo says:

    I think Foxy is getting rather brave, hanging around waiting for her titbits. I couldn’t think of a nicer plotting companion. I think you must have all the butterflies down there, there’s very few around here, though my sedum is starting to bud up so once that blooms I’m sure we’ll be inundated with them.

  11. snowbird says:

    How wonderful to have a fox that close, I had a feeling that she had taken a shine to you….lucky you! Wish I had one hanging around here. Daybreak is just gorgeous.xxx

  12. karen says:

    I love that cheerful gazania. Mum has given me some home grown plants. Just waiting to see what they look like when they open. It will be a nice surprise. I’m dead-heading calendulas too. They seem to be going over faster than last year. I’m growing a white one. As I suspected,it’s pale orange. Very pretty though, so I’m not complaining. Have a good week, Mike x

    • Flighty says:

      Karen good for you, me too. Lucky you, and well done mum. Yes I think so too, it must be the weather. That’s a shame, my new white ones are milky white. Thanks, and you too. xx

Leave a Reply

