Double delights

I acquired a nice china plant pot during May and then wondered what to put in it.  A couple of weeks later I was at the horticultural society trading shed looking at the charity sale plants where I noticed some gazania Daybreak.  I bought a few which I repotted, with the best plant going into a five inch plastic pot which fits perfectly into the china one. It’s grown well since and flowered yesterday.

A frost in late April  affected several plot plants including the hydrangea, but thankfully since then it has recovered. However I was resigned to having to wait another year for it to flower for the first time.  It’s partly hidden by cornflowers and pot marigolds so on Friday when I had a closer look I was delighted to see that it’s showing some flower buds.

 

It looks like being good plotting weather next week so I’ll be making the most of it.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Double delights

  1. Jo says:

    I love gazanias, such bright flowers which are sure to put a smile on your face. Do you know what colour your hydrangea is? Gardeners need to have lots of patience but it’s good that you’re not going to have to wait too much longer now for it to flower.

    • Flighty says:

      Jo I can see the attraction as they certainly do that. I’ll be growing some from seed next year. It looks like it has white flowers. We sure do but it’s usually well worth the wait. xx

  2. Liz says:

    The gazania is most attractive and has a good home. I’m tempted to reach through “the web”; your hydrangea buds look perfect for a design I’m doing for our flower show — all greens!

  3. CJ says:

    Lovely gazania, perfect for that pot. The hydrangea is looking beautifully healthy. I’ve got one in a container that was looking nice as I’d been feeding it with ericaceous food, but suddenly it looks as if a football or a puppy has landed in the middle of it. Disappointing! Hope you have a good week Flighty. CJ xx

  4. snowbird says:

    Love the colour of your Gazania, sits prettily in that china pot. Lucky you getting that Hydrangea blooming! The gods smile on the righteous. xxx

  5. Linda Penney says:

    Awesome update thank you for sharing Flighty.

  6. Isn’t it good when a plan comes off?! Lovely x

  7. nikkipolani says:

    Love that bright sunshiny color!

  8. menhir1 says:

    The Gazania is an attractive flower burst. Nice floral surprises there for you in a few directions by the looks of things. The trail to a new flower pot has been productive. xx

  9. Carrie Gault says:

    Ohhh now I think I need more plants in the house. What have you done Flighty!? haha That ‘daybreak’ is goregous.

Leave a Reply

