It’s been too hot to plot…

this week so all I’ve done is have a look round early on and water where needed.  Yesterday was the hottest day of the year so far with the temperature almost 35C/95F.  Needless to say the air quality has been poor which has meant that I’ve done little more than spend much of the time lounging about indoors drinking cups of tea.

I’m pleased to see the knee-high cornflowers Polka Dot starting to flower.

Thankfully it looks like being cooler and fresher from tomorrow so hopefully I’ll spending the mornings happily plotting again.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to It’s been too hot to plot…

  1. Linda Penney says:

    Lovely update thank you for taking the time to write a post when so hot have a blessed weekend as well

  2. Sharon says:

    I was stuck to the desk yesterday – literally. I’ve learnt something new; I didn’t know corn flowers came in shades of pink. Enjoy the cooler weather.

  3. Christina says:

    Sounds like your temperatures are similar to ours. Keep cool!

  4. menhir1 says:

    Memories of 1975 and ’76. ’86 was a very warm summer year as well, in London. We’ve been cooler, much cooler at about 15 degC, average.

    Your flowers really are thriving in the warmth. Did you plant sunflowers this year? xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I have faded and non too fond memories of those years.
      i much prefer such temperatures.
      They sure have. Yes I did, and I’ll be showing them in a forthcoming post. xx

  5. Liz says:

    I empathize with getting the gardening chores done in the relative cool of the early morning. Pretty pink cornflower!

  6. Chloris says:

    Yes it certainly was a hot one. I like your pink cornflower.

  7. Cathy says:

    Stay in and cool, it will get better!

  8. nikkipolani says:

    Well, that hot pink cornflower is perfect for this post!

  9. CJ says:

    Stifling wasn’t it. And I noticed that the view across the river was very hazy the other evening and it occurred to me that the air quality probably wasn’t great. Quite chilly by comparison now though! Hope you have a good weekend. CJ xx

  10. Jo says:

    It’s been far too warm to do much, hadn’t it? It’s cooled down a bit here now but Archie was especially uncomfortable in the heat with his thick fur coat on. That cornflower’s pretty, I haven’t seen a pink one before.

  11. snowbird says:

    Polka dot certainly is pretty, a nice change from the blue ones. Oh…I agree about the heat, we simply are not used to it! How the garden suffers too…xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Snowbird they sure are, but do include blue ones. I don’t think that I’d ever get used to it. It certainly does, and we need some rain to freshen it all up. xx

  12. Carrie Gault says:

    Oh I hear ya Flighty- too muggy to do anything plus the pollen count, arggh! Cornflowers are always a delight though and I hear it’s going to cool off soon xxx

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie being muggy and a high pollen count is a horrible combination. They sure are, and yes it been much cooler and fresher here the past couple of days. xx

  13. Guatyen says:

    That is rather hot. Hope it has cooled down a little now. That pink corn flower is such a beauty!

Leave a Reply

