It’s been dry and warm…

this week, as well as being less windy.

 

I’ve been picking strawberries every day, a few to eat whilst plotting and the rest to bring home.

 

 

I’ve sown poppy seeds some years which have never done well but a few have appeared this year,  small red ones and larger purple ones.

     

I will leave them to seed and see any appear next year.

I’m not growing any California poppies this year but a few self-seeded from last year.

It looks like getting warmer over the weekend reaching  30 degrees C/ mid 80’s F. That’s way to hot for me so I’ll be going to the plot early just to water and pick some strawberries before coming home for a welcome cup of tea.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to It’s been dry and warm…

  1. Linda Penney says:

    Lovely update and thank you for taking the timeout to post, have a blessed weekend.

  2. Liz says:

    Those strawberries look yummy and the flowers so pretty. I agree with you about the heat!

  3. It’s a great feeling when you can enjoy the fruits of your labour! Pretty poppies, we grew some from seed, my hubby collected some from a job he’d been working on a few years back. We threw them in with the roses and they almost took over the whole rose bed!!! It was quite a sight.. Enjoy your weekend too Mike xx

  4. menhir1 says:

    Oooh, those strawberries look luscious Mr F; are they?

    I saw a startling but beautiful display of blue poppies very recently, amongst them were one or two purple/pinkish hybrids. I found a photo I took about three years ago, I think, of a super white poppy in unkempt surroundings. Poppies seem to have a knack of looking so fragile yet they are terrific travellers, found far and wide. xx

  5. When it is hot, best to enjoy the cool morning air and then hole up inside. Lovely pictures!

  6. Poppies are a very nice flower, I always enjoy seeing them.
    I love strawberries, yours look very nice. My youngest grand-daughter also loves to eat them but whether she’d get as messy eating them as she did with chocolate cake … I’m not too sure! LOL!
    http://thelowcarbdiabetic.blogspot.co.uk/2017/06/chocolate-cakes-can-be-so-yummy.html

    Enjoy the up-coming weekend

    All the best Jan

    • Flighty says:

      Jan I agree, and me too.
      I actually not that fussed about strawberries. It’s the enjoyment that counts not the mess!
      Thanks, and you too. xx

  7. snowbird says:

    You just can’t beat eating strawberries straight from the plant when they are warm! Love your poppies.xxx

  8. CJ says:

    Mmm, scrumptious strawberries. Down at the plot mine are eaten by the many wild things. Plenty at home though which is good. It’s lovely to garden early on very hot days isn’t it. I get great satisfaction from watering before the sun gets too high. Hope you have a lovely weekend. CJ xx

  9. Lovely strawberries! You really can’t beat them, can you? Have a great weekend and stay cool. x

  10. nikkipolani says:

    Yeah, mid 80s would be pretty warm for you. We’re headed to the low 90s this weekend, so I will be enjoying something iced! Those strawberries are gorgeous and how nice that you have a good crop this year!

Leave a Reply

