It’s rather surprising…

to see the second early potatoes Charlotte  starting to flower, and even more surprising that the main crop Desiree are as well.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The same goes for the blackberry bush which is already covered in flowers.

 

 

 

 

I’ve noted at least a handful of colour variations for the pot marigolds (calendula officinalis) Flighty’s favourites so far, with more to come. Here are an all yellow one, and a yellow one with dark centre.

   

I planted out the cucumber Bush Crop during the week so the only plant left to grow on the window sill at home is the tomato Tiny Tim, now around a foot high, which I’ve replanted into a seven inch pot.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to It’s rather surprising…

  1. All our spuds are flowering too. Time to furtle for the first earlies do you think?

  2. David Ford says:

    My potatoes are PFA so aren’t flowering yet. I am missing one calendula, its the one in the right hand picture Flighty perhaps we could exchange seeds in the autumn, cheers David

  3. Jo says:

    A few things seem to be flowering early this year, perhaps because of the dry spring. My tomatoes need repotting, I’m a little late with it due to being ill but I’ll make sure they get done this week.

  4. menhir1 says:

    Cucumber bush; the mind boggles. Have you a picture of it Mr F? I always visualise a bush as a fulsome leafy growth at about hedge level, requiring the occasional short back and sides. I have seen cucumber plants, which, I suppose, depending on the variety, develop height and leaves, a little more so, though not exceptionally more, than tomato plants.

    Your Calendula look very good. I am hoping, when I see them again, that mine will have got, variously, beyond the seedling and leafing stages. If I have a good crop this year, my salads will be colourful.

    Your plants do seem to be happily in advance of themselves. Are you having to supplement the watering, or, are the weather conditions okay?

    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I’ll take a picture when it grows a bit bigger. I presume that it remains compact rather than sprawls.
      Thanks, it looks like they’ll be putting on a colourful display as usual.
      They’re mostly okay. I’ve had to water in recent weeks, as it’s been mostly dry but don’t think I’ll have this week if the weather forecast proves correct. xx

  5. CJ says:

    Love the all yellow one, so pretty. My strawberries are really early this year – I usually starting picking around the start of Wimbledon, but we’ve already had quite a few. It’s nice to have the windowsills back isn’t it? CJ xx

  6. Sharon says:

    I noticed that my plot neighbour’s potatoes are flowering but until you mentioned that was rather early, I’d not thought it was unusual – probably because this year has been unusual. Your marigolds are looking lovely, mine are still settling in.

  7. Christina says:

    It’s been an early year for many plants here too. I believe it was caused by our unusually cold winter.

  8. Linda Penney says:

    Awesome update thank you for sharing have a good week

  9. karen says:

    That’s early for the potatoes Mike. Great news as you’ll soon be harvesting a meal from them. Mine are growing strongly, but no sign of flowers yet. The early calendulas have flopped over in the rain. But the fresh new seedlings have buds on. Hope you are having better weather than us. Torrential rain all day and the lane is flooded at the bottom.

    • Flighty says:

      Karen yes especially for main crop ones. I sure hope so. It’s wet and windy here today so I guess my flowers are suffering too. That’s unwelcome, particularly at this time of year. xx

      • karen says:

        Only 11 degrees here today, Mike. Even the bees in our wild bee nest in the eaves under our bedroom window didn’t come out until 10am. They don’t look at all happy with the high winds and rain. They are a great indicator of the weather. On sunny days they are up and out at dawn. Therefore, so are we 🙂

        • Flighty says:

          Karen it’s been a miserably wet and windy day here so I’ve not not been happy either. Let’s hope better weather returns soon. xx

          • karen says:

            Horrible here too, Mike. I never made it to Chatsworth. The show ground was closed at lunchtime. Lucky I checked before setting off. Wasn’t looking forward to the motorway journey though. Well, anything that can be dashed to the ground has been flattened. The whole garden is littered with twigs and leaves from the trees. It will take me a day to clear up and prop up plants. Sadly some of the nests have blown out of the hedgerow. No sign of fledglings so I hope they made it. Flipping weather. Fingers crossed for a better day tomorrow xx

            • Flighty says:

              Karen a shame about the show, and your garden. I was relieved to find all okay, apart from some minor wind damage, on the plot this morning. Better today but still breezy. xx

  10. snowbird says:

    Love Flighty’s favourites, especially the totally yellow one. Looks like you shall have some new potatoes! Don’t think mine are flowering yet but must check tomorrow. Everything is early this year, my strawberries are almost ripe. How odd!xxx

  11. Carrie Gault says:

    What happiness exists on your plot – beautiful colours and promises of good foods to eat. Our blackberry has nearly finished flowering and is getting into the berry business. (Ooops, just remembered we don’t own it anymore). Our sharp’s express have flower buds! I have so many seeds from you and nowhere to grow them, I’m so sad, I’ll keep them for next year and make room!! Big hugs xx

    • Flighty says:

      Carrie that all sounds good to me. I’m sure that you’ll find some blackberries you can pick. We’ll some be enjoying some lovely new potatoes. I’ll have to send you some fresh seed for next year. Thanks, and to you too. xx

  12. Liz says:

    What blooms and colour! Love the yellow calendula. I think your plot will be especially productive this year!

  13. Chloris says:

    Your potatoes are early, when can you start digging them?

  14. nikkipolani says:

    We’ve got your marigolds blooming here, too, which roomie loves.

Leave a Reply

