So far so good

I’ve now nearly finished planting and sowing all the flowers and vegetables that I’m growing this year.

At home there are two cucumbers Bush Crop (see left) and Double Yield which I will plant out  in a couple of weeks or so.  I was given the seed of these less common varieties to try and it’ll be interesting to see how they do.

I’ve still got some more climbing bean seeds to sow which I’ll do once the first ones appear.

 

The first broad beans Crimson Flowered are just about knee high but are now flowering.

I sowed some more this week, and I wonder how they’ll do as I’ve never sown any this late before.

 

 

 

 

The plot has been buzzing with bees this week which is always good to see.

They’re been on the comfrey (as seen here), raspberries, strawberries and carpet of poached egg plant flowers.  I recognise honey bees but taking a closer there are various different types including lots of the white-tailed bumblebees.

 

It’s been a mostly sunny and warm week, and set to get even warmer for a few days, so this morning I went early and met Foxy who came right up to the full watering can on the ground in front of me.  I will mostly be pottering and watering whilst it’s that warm and leave the grass cutting until it cools down a bit.

Have a good weekend!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to So far so good

  1. Mark Willis says:

    Now that I have sown my PSB for next Spring, I think that is everything planted / sown for this year, apart from successional sowing of lettuce and radishes. Now we just have to wait! I haven’t seen many honey bees yet, but there are lots of the bigger types around. (I call them all Bumble Bees because I can’t tell the difference!)

    • Flighty says:

      Mark that sounds good to me. A plot neighbour keeps hives so there are always lots of honey bees buzzing round. Nor can I so I generally do the same. Cheers.

  2. Jo says:

    It’s a good feeling to be on top of everything, I hope it all does well for you. It’s roasting here today, I’ve just been watching all the bees buzzing around the garden, they’ve certainly been tempted out by this gorgeous weather.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Did you purposely grow the poached egg plants in a heart shape? 😉 One of these days I will sow these plants!! 🙂 I too have started some more broad beans…mice had about 2/3rds of the one planted on the plot….will be interesting to see if we get a crop. Sitting on the allotment with my eyes closed all I hear is a constant buzzing of the bees and the chirrups of the birds….wonderful!! 🙂

    • Flighty says:

      Anoymous hello whoever you are! No, they surround the dustbin lid pond which is hidden by the grass in the top of the picture. Good for you, mice can be a real menace can’t they. That sounds good to me. Cheers.

  4. Lovely photo’s, and so good to hear about the bees, they are so important.

    All the best Jan

    http://thelowcarbdiabetic.blogspot.co.uk/

  5. menhir1 says:

    What a surprisingly lovely flower the Broad Bean has. It’s great to see the bumble bees doing what they do best. xx

  6. nikkipolani says:

    Visible progress is always encouraging!

  7. CJ says:

    Those broad bean flowers are gorgeous aren’t they. I grew them one year, must do it again. I’ll be interested to see how your cucumbers do, they’re not varieties I’ve heard of before. And you’ve reminded me I must try and plant mine out soon. Hope you have a lovely weekend. CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ they sure are, and I’m looking forward to seeing what the beans are like. Me too, and if I hadn’t been given them would have been growing Marketmore as usual. No rush to plant them out, early June is fine. Thanks, and you too. xx

  8. Loving the heart shaped poached egg plants! Looks like you are off to a flying start (ha!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

