There’s been some rain…

the past few nights, and some showers during the days, which was good to see and it looks like there’ll be more during the coming week.

I put the climbing bean canes up during the week, a double row of nine, and I’ll probably be sowing the first seeds next week.

All the seed potatoes that I planted are now showing foliage, including the ones that got frosted a couple of weeks ago.  The onions, both the sets and seedlings, are doing well and the broad bean plants are slowly getting taller.  This morning I noticed that the first beetroot Baby Beat seedlings are just showing.

This is one of three sunflower Holiday seedlings that I’m hoping to grow around the plot.  This variety only grows around four feet tall but forms a spherical bush four feet across so needs plenty of room.

Nasturtium seedlings, a mixure  of Tom Thumb and Tip Top Mahogany, are starting to appear.

 

Lots of the cornflower Polka Dot seedlings have appeared. This is dwarf variety, which grows to about a foot, in various colours including blue, lavender, maroon, pink, red, rose and white.

 

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to There’s been some rain…

  1. Jo says:

    The weather’s the same here, more rain forecast for the coming week. Everything looks to be growing well, I like the sound of the sunflowers, I hope they do well for you.

  2. menhir1 says:

    Lots of little lively sparks. Mother Nature is really doing her stuff now. xxx

  3. We do need rain, I think some areas of the UK may be starting to get low and I really don’t want a drought later this summer …

    I love sunflowers, so do the grand-children.
    Talking of rain and grand-children
    http://thelowcarbdiabetic.blogspot.co.uk/2017/05/singin-in-rain-or-dancin-in-sun.html

    Take Care, my good wishes

    All the best Jan

  4. Glad to hear you have rain and the seedlings look happy. I have a lot of trouble getting beetroots to germinate. What is your secret? Xx

  5. Liz says:

    It sounds exciting at the plot with all those seedlings germinating. Glad you had some rain.

  6. CJ says:

    It’s all go now isn’t it. I like the idea of a short bushy sunflower, I’ll look forward to seeing how they turn out. I checked on my allotment sunflowers earlier and five out of the six I planted are still looking good. The other one has been bent over. From experience, that doesn’t always mean the end of the line, we shall see. My broad beans are looking really stunted and miserable. Not sure why. Looking forward to some rain this week! CJ xx

    • Flighty says:

      CJ it sure is. Me too, on both counts. I hope that yours do okay. My broad beans aren’t really faring much better. I think that we all are. xx

  7. Christina says:

    It is always so exciting when seedlings begin to appear. We’re eating peas and broad beans from the garden at the moment but they will soon be over as the temperatures are rising quickly now.

  8. We had a little rain last night but not enough, hoping for much more this week! Looking forward to seeing your seedlings develop over the coming months. xx

  9. snowbird says:

    Good to hear you have rain, we’ve had some too and it was sorely needed. Good to see all those plants coming through.xxx

  10. nikkipolani says:

    I like the sound of that Holiday that seems not to need staking. Perfectly timed rain is certainly something to be thankful for!

Leave a Reply

