Watering and wondering

Using a couple of watering cans I water all round once a week if there’s been little or no rain.  In between times I only water plants, such as climbing beans and tomatoes, that need doing more often.

 

As I’ve mentioned previously there’s been little significant rain here for months and I hope that it isn’t a sign of a forthcoming wet summer. I’d rather that it stayed dry than have that happen.

It’s noticeable that some plants are becoming stressed, like the crocosmia as the leaves are going brown.

 

 

Thankfully the perennial cornflowers and sedums are still looking good.         

The forecast is for sunnier and warmer weather later in the week, but only a few light rain showers one afternoon.

Have a good week!

About Flighty

...allotmenteer, armchair gardener, blogger and sofa flyer.
This entry was posted in Flighty's plot. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Watering and wondering

  1. Jo says:

    Ideally it would rain during the night and be bright, warm and sunny during the day. I think we’re due a good summer, I’m keeping my fingers crossed that we get one this year.

  2. I wish I could send you some of our rain, after a long dry winter and early spring we’ve got lots!☔️

  3. Christina says:

    The Sedum don’t mind if they stay dry and hot all summer; they survive the drought and heat of summer here and always look great, they are one of my favourite plants plus they are so easy to propagate.

  4. Liz says:

    Like Jo, I hope you get rain at night and bright sunny days!

  5. CJ says:

    Ridiculously dry isn’t it. But don’t worry, we have lots of outside plans next weekend that will almost certainly guarantee rain. I’ve noticed a lot of dry leaves on the ground where plants have been shedding them in a response to the dry conditions. Makes for more sweeping up! Hope you have a good week. CJ xx

  6. menhir1 says:

    Your generously-sized watering can is going to be kept busy Mr F. It’s good to see you have some hardy early plants thriving. Clay soil is difficult to keep moist without a regular watery dousing.

    Dryness is not an issue with us yet as the ground has not dried out. It was saturated, so much so, it was really not sensible to consider any meaningful gardening. I could pull up the odd weed here and there without any effort and get muddy digits for my trouble.

    xx

    • Flighty says:

      Menhir I’m sure it will be. I agree, it is. Like most soils there are pros and cons.
      I sympathise and really don’t like saturated soil. xx

  7. Sharon says:

    I think this is the sixth or seventh week without a decent downpour. Ordinarily I’d just be watering seedlings and young plants but this year everything is transplanted or young, so it was time for the hosepipe today! Enjoy your week.

    • Flighty says:

      Sharon I can’t remember when we last had one. It’s something we don’t need at this time of year is it. Thanks, and you too. xx

  8. Chloris says:

    It is worrying we have has almost no rain all winter. My natural pond usually has a
    couple of feet of water in it at this time of the year. It is quite dry.

  9. snowbird says:

    The lack of rain is becoming a problem here too, I’ve had to get the hosepipe out, but it doesn’t reach to the front garden where the veggie patch is…..hopefully we will get some rain, but not a summer washout as you say! xxx

Leave a Reply

